Skip to content

An Alaskan lied…You Betcha !

January 15, 2015

pwlk1After more than 40 years living on the East coast and having a lot sharper mind that I have at present I realized that for the most part everyone you interacted with back there told you what they thought you wanted to hear. Was that lying or just being nice? You pick your adjective to me it was lying. Honesty was a hard commodity to find, and in fact after living there so long I presumed it was just the way life was. Then in 1995 I met the people of Alaska, and realistically it was not that everyone I met was totally honest, but when it mattered you could indeed find honesty in their words.

Well this Alaska lied! I have lied to you the 400 plus that follow my blog and the 50 or so that stop by each day to see what I have written. In an earlier posting I said I do not look at the number of people who visit my blog and that I write for myself and not to garner higher numbers. I do write what I find intriguing or aggravating but Yup I lied and do watch those numbers and I think it has finally gotten to me.

Since the middle of last week I have been unable to complete a posting that I consider worthy of appearing on this page. I have daily checked the number of visitors and my anxiety has increased as the numbers fall because I am not publishing. Yes it is true I have spent some time with my grandchildren, but even in the quiet of night, when they are sleeping, my mind just will not focus. I have plenty of unfinished postings on the desktop ranging from weather changes in Alaska, friendship, reflections on my early life, the OPEC oil war to of course the ever present government short-falling’s. Each of these has random notes, thoughts and links but not one is anywhere near ready to be published.

I may be making my own pressure by worrying about loosing any of you because I procrastinate, but I will not publish anything until its done and I am sure many of your know what I mean by done. Not when we finish writing and complete the posting but when you read and then re-read it and just know it is good. From the many comments over the years I know most of you do not focus on the factual stories published by me but the…… for want of a better word (flavor) that is all mine. It is the seasoning that I add to each posting in words or related stories that I believe is the reason you return to these pages.

I value and do not want to loose anyone of you who visit. I know you understand that I cherish every second with my family here in Texas and that I do sometimes ponder the fact that as one gets older you just never know how many visits are left in your life so…….

….I can only ask you be patient
I will be home in a couple weeks
and it will be just me and the computer
to write the postings you have come to appreciate.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2015 5:33 pm

    I know my clock is ticking and there is a bucket list I need to complete. On the other hand spending time with my grandchildren and filling their life with wonderful memories of me is important as teaching them all about the “GREAT” outdoors. Sometimes I feel like a rubber band.

    Like

  2. January 15, 2015 10:46 pm

    Pete … Don’t worry about it … it’s not a big deal. When your postings pop-up in my reader, I read them. It’s automatic. Enjoy your visit to (and thawing out in) Texas. Who knows … the break may give you a fresh perspective on what’s happening in the world.

    Like

  3. Gina permalink
    January 16, 2015 2:39 am

    Sometimes you need to step back and smell the roses, not write about them. Enjoy the kids and grandkids,,,,,,,,,,,,your readers will wait :)

    Like

  4. January 17, 2015 8:20 am

    Aww you won’t lose me Pete but I do know that feeling about the numbers. I feel that way too sometimes when my “likes” aren’t at a certain level. Know that I’m here and have saved your blog link in my “blogs I follow” folder. Oh and by the way, I notice that only in the reader can I see the ability to “like” your posts. When I save your blog link in my browser, I can’t click on the like button. If you are concerned about those numbers, then perhaps you could add the like back in so we can click that. Just a thought. :)

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    January 17, 2015 12:58 pm

    Hey Pete,
    All of us regulars know where you’re at & how much you care about the content of your blog postings. Don’t worry about us.
    By the way, I got home here today & about an hour or so after I checked my emails & saw you’d tried to call. It was then I discovered I’d misplaced my cell. Went out the my wife’s car, looked around, nope. Looked around the house, nope. Took the land line out to the garage, called my cell # & found it alongside the seat & center counsel in her car! And of course, that’s when you’d called.
    We’ll touch base soon. Sorry I missed your call. :(( :((

    Like

  6. January 19, 2015 11:27 am

    “you will post no creation before its time..?”

    Like

  7. January 22, 2015 7:18 pm

    It’s quality not quantity that matters. Keep writing and they will come.

    Like

  8. February 18, 2015 7:39 pm

    A brilliant post, must hold my hand up and admit I had fallen away as a reader whilst I was away on holidays. I’m just doing a catch up and must say that your candour about your actual writing and perhaps struggle at times to put out content is very refreshing and honest, I often enjoy this aspect of your posts’, I guess this is because I have been told many times that life is more about the journey rather then the destination, so please don’t hold back on this fabulous insight to your writing! Thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

