Skip to content

America…the greatest nation on earth!

November 24, 2014

P.1I apologize for the delay in posting this article
which was inspired by the November 4th elections.

I was daydreaming about butchering a black bear that had decided not to hibernate because of the warm weather, and instead tried to steal some food from my ice chests, when I heard something wonderful on the radio. Because I get focused on what I am doing I was sure I had heard what was said incorrectly, but later on the evening news it was again reported and this time I heard it clearly and it made me smile…. A candidate that won a seat in congress had said that she was proud to be a representative in Washington because America was the greatest nation on the face of this earth.

It was then the fog of negativity began to clear as I realized that I too have been for quite a while fixating on to many negative stories, which was a direct result of watching our representatives in Washington and the state capitol bang heads with each other and accomplish nothing. Yes our nation was sick and needed some fixing but as the lady said it was still the greatest nation on the face of this earth.

Even though obama said, “it’s cliché to say that America is the greatest nation on earth”, and has during his time in office gone around the world apologizing to any nation that would listen that we are sorry for thinking we are better than they are, I indeed do think we are the greatest nation on the face of this earth!

I know the face of our nation is changing, from our morality and politics to the very nature of what we value the highest, but is it to much to ask that we still be proud to be Americans? I may bemoan the loss of things from the days of old but where is that chest pounding, tear in ones eye emotion for our country? Some may say I am a dinosaur and both my time and what evokes emotion from me is past, but are these people blind?

Is it wrong to think we are the greatest nation on the face of the earth when:
There is a disaster of any kind in any country we are there to help.
We ensure every child in America receives a good education.
We provide emergency medical help to any citizen in need without regard to economic status.
We allow everyone in this nation to worship according to their beliefs.
We insure that you are free to voice any opinion even if it is contrary to our governments policies.

You do not see our government putting up fences or brick walls to keep people from fleeing this country. You do not see the government shutting down radio stations because talk shows are voicing discontent with its policies. You do not see our internet access being censored. You do not see people being arrested for demonstrating against these policies. What you do see is freedom…. to do and say what we wish.

So I have decided, in the following months, to write a few postings about just why this nation is better than any other. Yes I said better… I know this is wrong to say in this age of political correctness but it is the absolute truth so why not! All this because one woman candidate had the courage to say how great we are, when all the other candidates are afraid to openly say it.

I do not know where these future postings will take me
but I hope to address some of the reasons why
America with all its current problems and faults
is still the greatest nation on the planet!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2014 8:05 pm

    As a proud Australian I would have to say hats off to your country. A few years ago our then Prime Minister Julia Gillard gave what I considered one of the best speeches ever about our countries relationship and how we look up to America, it reduced some members of congress to tears! well worth a watch if this link works!

    or just you tube Julia Gillards speech to US Congress!

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    November 27, 2014 4:47 am

    Pete,
    I read this on Thanksgiving morning & I couldn’t have picked a better day to do so! Wonderful post & I will take this opportunity to wish you & all the visitors/posters a HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!
    jON

    Like

Leave a Reply

