Skip to content

Today nothing happened…..

October 24, 2014

DSCF1372I wonder how many of you have experienced a day or a week like I have experienced. I have often opened my blog postings speaking of waiting for the fog in my mind to clear as the caffeine did its job, well for the past week I have had a hard time rising above that quagmire in my consciousness. The sharpness of thought at times did spike through but something just would not allow me to ponder the many mysteries that I encountered.

One could attribute this partially to the relief I felt from hearing that those in Dallas under quarantine and the nurses are ebola free and that cities cloud of fear has been lifted. But just a short exposure to the latest news, one would expect, should have me typing furiously about: the attempted beheading in Oklahoma, the soldier shot in Canada by a lone terrorist, the religious fanatic who went nuts and used a hatchet to attack police officers in N.Y., and the fact that our government has still leaned on the side of political correctness and not restricted travel to the United States from ebola ravaged countries.

But no….my fingers lag along even as I types this posting waiting for any spark to ignite the mental fireball that could produce an worthwhile article…yet I am still ending up with nothing. Right at this minute the strongest feeling I have is satisfaction for my daughter because she experienced her first ‘moose in the driveway’ at her new cabin. Now we know dear reader, that with all the turmoil and horror going on in the world today, some connection somewhere in my brain has snapped when I am sitting here focusing on a moose! I actually sat here at the keyboard yesterday and thought just maybe it was time to put the keyboard away….but we will have to just wait a bit longer and see if this state of atrophy will pass.

I do have one incomprehensible thought to ponder….
Why does a medical doctor who has just returned from treating ebola victims
decide to immediately after returning to the United States
go out to dinner then ride a subway and go bowling
when he has a temperature?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2014 9:09 pm

    Hi, Pete. Two things I think we will never see in the Fort: an ebola case and a live moose in the driveway. But we do have lots of consciousness quagmires.

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    October 25, 2014 4:18 am

    Nobody texted him that he shouldn’t!

    Like

  3. October 25, 2014 7:29 am

    Hey Pete – as we’ve talked previously there are times when it’s best not to touch the ole keyboard because your heart is just not in it. I’d much rather post infrequent albeit quality blogs as versed with spewing out a myriad of unfocused, spiritless postings with no heart. Glad you saw a moose; it dawned on me as I was driving back from dropping Sarge off at the Anchorage airport at 00:45 Friday morning I’ve only seen a handful of moose all summer and fall. This was quite a shift from last year. I’ve only seen one grizzly in 2014 and a couple of black bears. It’s almost as if they’ve moved out of the area..?

    Like

  4. October 26, 2014 12:39 pm

    I must say I agree wholeheartedly with your observations about medical doctor free wheeling around New York after returning from treating Ebola victims, just couldn’t fathom that he or the authorities thought this was the right thing to do (even if symptoms don’t show for 7 days).

    Like

Leave a Reply

