Skip to content

Hope and the golden snow in Alaska

September 14, 2014

DSCF0506.JPGAs I looked out the cabin window this morning and watched the golden ‘snowfall’ of leaves dropping quietly to the ground, my mind drifted to wonder where had the years gone. I have walked this earth for about 25,318 days, so what have I accomplished during those 36,457,920 minutes? I see no lives saved or universal benefit to mankind as a whole because of my existence. There was no mountainous climb up some corporate ladder to wealth or breakthrough knowledge that benefited anyone. Instead after all this time I sit alone, at my keyboard masquerading as a writer of something of worth that will touch people’s soul or make them think differently about events happening around them.

I am once again drawn to a soliloquy by Shakespeare elucidating his view of peoples daily lives…..“Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow creeps in it’s petty pace from day to day…..and all our yesterdays have lighted fools way to dusty death….out out brief candle….life is but a stage where we are but players who strut and fret our lives away…..it is a tale told by an idiot full of sound and fury signifying nothing.” Is our lives truly meaningless and full of nothing? When I look out and see so many self absorbed people that are burying themselves in any distraction so they will not have to deal with reality I may just have to agree with Shakespeare’s words.

But then I also see people who are unselfish and care for there fellow man. They volunteer their time to feed the less fortunate or work in hospitals and nursing homes caring for the elderly and dying. I can see beauty in those who may not have time to volunteer but go out of their way to be kind to neighbors and strangers they meet. I also see many who witness wrongs being committed get involved and try and right those wrongs. Could it be at this time in my life that it is my humble words reaching out and touching some unknown someone, that is my contribution on my road of life?

So like the leaves falling in my driveway
these individual’s though acting alone will by there example
become a flood of golden rays of hope for all of us.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2014 10:52 pm

    I read your blog and smiled Pete… I don’t know about anyone else, but your words touched a chord with me and made me smile. I have been involved in full time social work for 3 years now and the one thing I have learnt is that for me to truly impact/change/inspire anyone, be it poor and rich, I will have to start with myself and as I come closer to my real self, as i get more in sync with what i really am, I will start simply being rather than trying to become/inspire/impact. As and when I reach this stage of freedom, people around would automatically be inspired/impacted.. So, in my humble opinion, the question which you should be asking is: Have I come closer to my real self in my years of existence, Am I truer to myself?
    Take Care.. :)

    Like

  2. September 15, 2014 7:31 am

    Great post! Love the fall colors.

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    September 15, 2014 4:10 pm

    Well worded, Pete, & like Angela love the pics!

    Like

  4. September 16, 2014 12:43 pm

    Pete, I believe the measure of a person can be seen in how they’ve touched the spirits of those around them and how they’ve given of themselves. I know I felt the greatest satisfaction of my life when I was talking with a gentleman with advanced Alzheimer’s and was able to share a story about one of my dogs, Anana, and a squirrel. I saw the light in his eyes and for just the briefest of moments he smiled. I knew I’d touched the ‘real’ man at that point and regardless of the fact he would most likely not remember this for even 30 seconds I’d still made a positive impact on this gentleman’s existence. It’s moments like these that made me realize just how meaningless all the work I’d done in QA, R&D and IT within corporate America really was…and just how important it is that we humans try to reach out and help each other. Your blogging has indeed touched me and meeting you was a real treat; often people come into our lives and we have no clue as to why but with age and wisdom I’m learning to recognize and pay attention to those ‘special’ folks. I am honored to count you as a friend and it still amazes me that I would never have known you existed were it not for your blogging. So please do keep up the great work, my Friend..!!

    Like

  5. September 16, 2014 1:06 pm

    One will never know how many lives they have touched. This tally will be yours to discover and I am certian you will be delighted with the result.

    Like

Leave a Reply

