Skip to content

An Alaskan road trip Part 2…rain, RV’s and road construction

August 28, 2014

broadpass3DSCF1636.JPGDSCF1637.JPG

 

 

There are many mornings, during the summer, when I am down at the ‘Arctic circle trading post’ having coffee that I encounter visitors to Alaska. The Trading post is of course a wilderness gift shop, so it draws tour buses and the occasional independent traveler. As I drink my warm brew and wait for the fog to clear my head I muse as to what these people from around the world think of their time in Alaska. On Tuesday and Wednesday I had a chance to experience first hand what they might encounter as they traveled a small part of my state.

If you have been following my blog you know that rain not sunlight has dominated the summer this year across the state and the weather on this drive would be no different. I had postponed the trip a couple times wanting clear sky’s so I could once again see the glory of the Alaskan range while driving the Parks highway. The road at and just passed Denali is worthy of taking time to stop and absorb the majesty of the surrounding mountain range. It was however not to be, because the snow capped mountains were shrouded in clouds and even the lower mountains did not vibrate with color because of the lack of sun.

When you add to this the endless number of RV’s and buses on the road

throw in numerous road construction delays you have a 690 mile drive worthy of a record breaking headache.

But then this is after all Alaska and if you travel for a while the weather does change

and I did encounter brief glimpses of the sun at seemingly the just the right moment to be rewarded by a couple majestic panoramas.

I offer you my family and readers a scant few of the images I captured while on this drive. Like any photograph it never does justice to being there but if you use your imagination……

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2014 11:03 pm

    I think I shall put Alaska on my bucket list

    Like

  2. August 29, 2014 5:18 pm

    Hello, Pete! Think I’ll travel that road in March and skip all the traffic. :)

    Like

  3. Raven permalink
    August 29, 2014 6:52 pm

    Beautiful pictures!!! And some inspired writing ? :-)

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    August 30, 2014 3:02 am

    Nice images nonetheless, Pete. I know the great one is only visible about 40% of the time. We were fortunate on our honeymoon in ’01 to see it clear to the top on our way to Fairbanks from Anchorage. Margie asked me at one point at the Princess Lodge viewpoint if I had enough pics already; I told her we may never see it again like this.
    Like in ’95 when I went to McCarthy. I left Fairbanks & noticed Denali was clear so I changed my plans & went down the Parks to Anderson where I noticed a cloud bank coming up from the south. Sure as heck, by the time I got to the park entrance & drove into mile 14, it was socked in. Drove 1 1/2 hours south of Cantwell before I gave up. Maybe that’s how Cantwell got its name. (if you can’t see Denali well) & crossed the Denali to join the Rich arriving in McCarthy 24 hours after I left Fairbanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

