Skip to content

Communication detox….a brief thought

July 22, 2014

garfieldThe only sound heard was the cawing of the ravens as they circled the camp. George awoke and within minutes felt the emotional drag of something absent…. He wondered around the cabin in a daze looking for something but not knowing what. As he made his way to the kitchen to make some coffee he turned again looking for something, something that was missing. It was like when you misplaced your car keys a feeling of something being there on your mind but just out of reach. Then George realized that it was his constant companion, an alter ergo of sorts…….it was his phone, computer and instant news on the television that was missing, and this was because George has gone cold-turkey and enrolled at a communication detox camp!

Yes maybe a flight of fancy but when you consider that the youth of today have a problem writing in cursive and in retail stores employees stumble without the aid of the cash register or calculator. Or consider when was the last time you went for more than an hour without a cell-phone call or text? Can you even remember how long ago you sat in silence without the TV or radio being on?

It is no wonder that more and more of the population is suffering from stress when your every minute is saturated with an invasion of noise and the emotional pressure to respond. Wouldn’t it be great if that camp George went to is real? A place where there are no cell phones, computers, television or radio to break the absolute silence. A place that for a week you could go and never think about how someone would feel if you did not answer their call, text or tweet.

Hey wait a minute I live in just such a place
maybe I should put up a sign
communication junkie detox center?

-The-Matrix-the-matrix-23939841-1360-768

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2014 12:48 am

    I love the silence of no cell,tv and radio. It doesn’t bother me , in fact some time I want to rip the house phone off the wall.I love peace and quiet.
    donna

    Like

  2. Del permalink
    July 23, 2014 3:53 am

    yes Pete I remember those days in Eureka……… AM radio and a ham was all I had to keep in touch with world news…… you could hear a vehicle coming from the hoot bridge! Sometimes even farther away.
    And yes i do like my smarty phone……… but could still live without it…….. lol

    Like

  3. July 23, 2014 7:40 am

    Hey Buddy – Since relocating up here I’ve managed to spend many hours just sitting on my front porch immersed in that wonderful ‘immense Alaskan silence’ while watching Nature flow around me. Now this has become a staple of my daily existence and I even do so in the winter. I could easily do without all forms of electronic ‘noise’ with the exception of email; it’s my one vice and is my tie to all those I left behind in the lower 48. I also use Skype but far and away I spend hours everyday dealing with email. I really do fear for the upcoming generation; they have no understanding of what it’s like to be alone with one’s thoughts. Recent studies have shown more than 80% of those 12 to 18 suffer stress within minutes of being deprived of all their electronic ‘leashes’; the same study showed 90% experienced anxiety when told to just sit and think in the absence of cell phones, tablets and computers. I firmly believe the only way humans can truly know themselves is by spending time alone with their thoughts. With this in mind we’re raising a generation that will never know themselves! I could see how this might deaden empathy towards other living things and that sure as heck isn’t a good thing.

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    July 26, 2014 4:46 am

    As soon as most of these people with a smart phone stop moving, out comes that phone & they’re staring transfixed at whatever it is they’re reading/seeing. I’ve seen people walk into parking meters, trip on curbs, & walk across the street against the red light because they’re so engrossed in their phone. As a bus driver, they read the destination signs on the outside of the bus & get on the wrong one anyway I suppose because no one texted them otherwise! One benefit is is the bus is sure quiet!
    When we changed providers I bought a flip phone; I refuse to get into that nonsense. My wife bought a smart phone & I had her call the company to learn how to text.
    Pretty sad when you see a family out for dinner & everyone’s into their phones instead of conversing.

    Like

  5. July 26, 2014 12:32 pm

    It used to be you just let the phone ring if you didn’t want to answer it; you just figured they’d call back if it was important. Then came the answering machine – woohoo, what device. You could leave a clever message and then check to see if anyone cared to leave one for you. Then cell phones and call-waiting, call-forwarding, voice mail and texts. And endless beeps, burps, chirps and whistles to let you know you missed all the important stuff. When I leave here; when I leave all the technology behind, I will be happy to turn off this iPhone, the iPad, the laptop, for days and weeks at a time … because what’s the use? I’ll have no service other than Starband if I want it for news, email, blogs…come to think of it…there IS no escape, lol. And so I’ll go a step further and do as you do, HAM radio. Or maybe I’ll just wait till spring or the float plane comes in to bring me chocolate and popcorn seeds, and I’ll send out one of those white things with a sticky square in the corner, those old paper deals you lick before you kiss it goodbye.

    Like

  6. Terry permalink
    July 27, 2014 2:25 pm

    I did have a lovely day at the ocean yesterday without any technology (except that which got us there ;-) but I still thoroughly enjoyed the “connections” when I got back home. Would never turn back time :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

