Skip to content

Sounds of silence for a lonely ‘ham’

July 1, 2014

DSCF1592.JPGNo sound is heard….
no talk, no news, no radio
sitting waiting for the water to boil
looking out the cabin window with a view monsters of old would covet
the fog drifting in and out of the trees with tendrils licking skyward
waiting…waiting for the scream that never comes
only the sound of rain drop by drop falling from the roof
hitting the ground below.

This brief posting is directed to my ham friends and followers of this blog to let them know I am still alive and well in the wilderness. It has been months since I have been able to have a good QSO, (aka..conversation for the non-ham), on the radio. For me the radio filled the need of being able to reach out to others around the world and those QSO’s indeed made the day a little brighter.

I have received a number of emails from hams I have spoken with asking to set up a time for another QSO. My problem is for some reason at my cabin the airwaves are dead. I have jokingly replied to them that either the NSA is blocking my transmissions and receptions or that elusive ‘dark matter’ that fills a large percentage of the universe has decided to coalesce directly over my cabin.

This posting is to let all of you know I am on the radio every day
checking to see if I can punch through that shroud covering my cabin
and once again rejoin the world of Amateur radio.

P1020381

73

KL1HB

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2014 4:55 am

    I’m looking forward to learning this. I used to be in a remote bay where, at night, when it was stormy and the sound of the tide surging beneath the floor kept me company, I would turn on an old, old radio – the kind where you lay on the floor and turn an enormous dial to pick up Japan, Russia, old European countries, and places you’d couldn’t even imagine a location on the planet for – just foreign noise. But it was human voice in the lonely darkness. I wish, wish, wish I’d kept that old radio, a dinosaur of a thing with huge glass crystals and other fun guts. A.M., of course, and not ham, but it kept the loneliness at bay. There was news to be considered gospel because it came from Radio Free Europe or America or some non-English-speaking country trying to get their word out; no advertising, just relevance. No wonder I don’t watch Fox or CNN or NBC or anything else. Just give me a link to what’s real and happening first hand where it’s happening. We surely do need more of that kind of information, from you, them, and we need to hear a little true fear and trepidation from those who haven’t been sucked in, bought, and blanketed by the media. Wonder how long it will take, how long it will last, if it will offer the last human voice when all else is quiet…

    Like

  2. July 2, 2014 4:56 am

    and a P.S. – I looooooooooove this rain :-)

    Like

    • July 2, 2014 7:45 pm

      Personally I could use some sun to dry out and just go out and soak up some rays….

      Like

  3. July 2, 2014 5:03 am

    Sorry to hijack your post, Pete, but your photo is right there, front and right center, and I have to talk back. For those who find blogs like yours, like mine, and check in now and then, it’s important to listen to what’s being said. It’s not about agreeing or seeing things in a different light or perspective, it’s hearing truth where it exists for people who recognize it. Were we all blind, our looks and appearance irrelevant, all we would be able to do is share, listen, pay attention, and the extraneous BS would immediately be invisible. Pity those whose sense of sight supersedes hearing, even intuition. Turn it up, pay attention.

    Like

  4. Del permalink
    July 2, 2014 7:47 am

    all I had was a ground plane antenna.. skipped all over the place…. had an 11 meter crystal…. wasn’t really legal. but boy could I talk to people…. The Aussies were my best contacts…… I would get Q cards and letters from people I didn’t even chat with….. I still have that radio….. You want it? It still has the 11 meter crystal in it…. Not sure if it even works though as I lost the power supply and 12vdc cord…… Del

    Like

    • July 2, 2014 7:48 pm

      I’ll pass but my son collects older radios and i will let him know maybe you could work something out with him, but thanks for the offer.

      Like

  5. July 3, 2014 6:53 am

    Get yerself a new battery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

