Skip to content

Just another Alaskan day

June 29, 2014

DSCF1569.JPGThough beneficial for the brief growing season and keeping forest fires at bay, and after what seemed like weeks of rain the sun has finally come out. You can see the results of just one brief rain shower in the picture on the left. My son, daughter and her boyfriend had recently shoveled three truckloads of gravel to cover my driveway however the rain, undaunted, proceeded to let me know I still needed quite a few more loads, and like any good man I have added that job to my list of ‘things to do’. However I am sure most men know what happens when something requiring that much work is placed on a ‘to do’ list *_*

If you read my last posting about my son’s visit to Alaska you know we have had a couple bears roaming the property. Today when I went down to get some coffee, at a neighbors, they informed me that yesterday they also had a close encounter with yet another bear. You may wonder how we know that these are different bears and not the same one, well at the present it is easy because the first one was a small black bear, the second one that came near Kara’s ‘Hit and Run’ store was a grizzly, the third one at the same location was a chocolate colored black bear and lastly yesterday a larger black bear.

DSCF1585.JPG

I can only imagine what people would do in some states that do not allow the ‘open carry’ of handguns but here in Alaska walking around with a handgun is as natural as putting on sunglasses. You can see by the photograph that mine lately is never far out of reach….even when writing a posting for my blog.

Since this is another posting about Alaskan life in general and not one of my rants
I thought I would share with you a few pictures celebrating the sun
I took this morning while drinking my coffee
…enjoy!

DSCF1584.JPGDSCF1580.JPG

DSCF1572.JPG

DSCF1577.JPG

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2014 9:45 pm

    Nice; any bunny boot deserves a good retirement.

    Like

    • June 30, 2014 8:11 pm

      Considering they weigh about 10 pounds each the flower-boot will never blow over.

      Like

  2. Terry permalink
    June 30, 2014 12:44 am

    Considering the activity, handiness of your firearm is prudent.

    Like

  3. Terry permalink
    June 30, 2014 12:45 am

    And the sunny flowers are pretty – another sign of summer ;-)

    Like

    • June 30, 2014 8:09 pm

      Yes they are as is the grass that is now about three feet high…come to think of it a good place for a bear to hideeeeeeee…

      Like

  4. Jon permalink
    July 1, 2014 5:41 pm

    I’m sure you’ve all heard about all the rain & flooding down here in Mn., too. Good to see you are getting some rain up there as well; keeps the fires down for awhile at least.
    Nice pics of the homestead, Pete. Watch out for those curious bears!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

