Skip to content

Saying goodby and hello to another bear

June 26, 2014

DSCF1506.JPGThe rain started in earnest early Wednesday morning. I know this because I was awake and outside at 3 AM and the misty drizzle was now a steady rainfall. I was outside a hotel in Fairbanks attempting to wake up and allow my son to get ready for his flight in a few hours. I thought I would make a couple comments about the everyday personnel stuff I seldom address on this blog before jumping into the deep end of politics or the general lack of common sense by our nations leaders.

This visit by my son was undoubtedly the best one we have shared in the years Anthony has been visiting me in Alaska. Don’t get me wrong every visit has been appreciated however we have on most past visits tread into philosophical waters that usually ended up with me going outside for a short walk. This time, though we banged heads about how to make the best electrical connections or what DVD to watch, we managed to even enjoy these ‘discussions’. I told him on that last morning that I believe this was the direct result of both of us becoming more ‘mellow’ with age, just another way of saying we are getting old!

I realize I have deprived you of my, head exploding, blood seeping from my eyes comments about our wonderfully run government, and even though I came close to writing about the trade of four high ranking terrorists for a deserter………………..

Sorry I had to leave for a bit because of “the signal”. Out here we have an understanding that three shots from any firearm or your trucks alarm will mean that there is a serious situation and everyone should come to investigate, and today it was once again a bear. A nice sized black bear had come to withing 5 yards of the ‘Hit & Run’ snack shack. The cars alarm had scared it off into the woods…which is good except for the fact that it could now be anywhere on the property. This will make the second bear this month, one a grizzly and now a black bear. After searching the immediate area Rose said the bear may ‘still be running’…..’her lips to God’s ear’. I am back to writing because after all it is just another day living in the wilderness on the edge of nowhere.

…………OK even though it’s a little hard getting mentally back to writing about Anthony’s visit and seeing that it is closing on dinner time I will make this short. Anthony was hear for only a week and even though he is needed and wanted by his wife and children, I wish he could have stayed much longer.

I know God willing I will see him again at Christmas
and because we never know what God has planed for us
we should cherish every minute that we share with others.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    June 26, 2014 8:17 pm

    Sounds good, Pete :-)

    Like

  2. June 27, 2014 11:01 am

    It was indeed a good trip! Many things accomplished- crossed off the “to do” list. Movies watched. Sleep slept. :)

    Like

  3. Donna Reynolds permalink
    June 27, 2014 12:31 pm

    Love your picture of the week, that’s my kind of tree house. Hope you are doing well and stay safe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

