Skip to content

A fork in the road?

May 14, 2014

IMG_0706Today I awoke to sunlight streaming through birch trees that seemed to literally bud overnight. Later when I went out to my truck it was covered in a yellow/green dusting of pollen that was not there yesterday. Alaska has for years proven to me to be a vast land of change. You can go to bed when it is a nice 60 degrees and wake to find snow covering the ground and temperatures in the 20’s. It seems that maybe I have indeed been here too long because I also feel the stirring of a change inside me.

Sometimes the passage of time goes unnoticed as when I realized that I have been writing this blog for almost half a decade First for my family and in later years for anyone who finds my thoughts worthy of their time. For months now I have increasingly been feeling weary of pointing out the obvious and satirizing the monumentally stupid actions of a government that acts not in the best interest of it’s people but those running it. I have, of late, thought of going back to the roots of this blog and write about family and adventures here in Alaska, but alas I have not been able to take interesting incidents from my life in Alaska and create a posting that would be captivating.

I could say this is a mid life crisis but now nearing the 70 year mark it hardly ranks as mid-life so it must be something else. Maybe it is connected to the thoughts I am having, for the first time since I arrived here, of departing this great land. I do not know where this branch in the road will lead me but I will ensure that you know where my road of life takes me. Whatever the reason or result I ask your indulgence while I struggle through this mire of self doubt and dissatisfaction.

For unlike the rapid changing of seasons in Alaska
my struggle may be quite a bit more quixotic.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2014 7:43 pm

    Wow Pete. I didn’t think you would ever consider leaving Alaska but sometimes our spirit yearns for things we can’t push down or ignore anymore. Follow your heart. :)

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    May 15, 2014 1:45 am

    Yes, Pete – follow your heart :-)

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    May 15, 2014 4:30 am

    Yeah, we’ll lose track of how many mosquitoes there are up there too! LOL! You gotta do what you gotta do, though.

    Like

  4. May 15, 2014 8:28 am

    Hey Pete – Previous advice is more than sound; its just plain good sense! One can only look to their heart when reflecting upon making such monumental changes in lifestyle. I went through a similar event in early 2013 when I had to make the decision to leave my network of friends and my much loved volunteering opportunity at the Northville Sunrise to move up here. As of this point I know I made the right move and I suspect this evaluation is now pretty much written in concrete. What I cannot know is if within five or ten or more years I might not have thoughts similar to your own. Right now I cannot imagine this occurring but I’ve also been ’round the block enough times to know anything is possible. If the magic of Alaska has worn thin for you or if the issues of dealing with the ‘flying blood bank’, the extreme weather and/or the isolation have become more prominent then maybe its time to take a look at your options. I sense you are a thoughtful man and as such I know you’ll make the call that’s right for you.

    Like

  5. May 15, 2014 3:27 pm

    A lifelong’r and wondered what I was missing, so I took a year here and there to see; I returned each time, secure in what I wasn’t and grateful for the comparison and contrast of here and there. Go; you may discover what I didn’t, and be happy you did. For some of us the world is flat; for others, there is no end. Either way, it will continue to turn, spin, and hang in space…

    Like

  6. Harold permalink
    May 19, 2014 7:09 am

    Pete, where ever you go you will always have friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

