Skip to content

I am an ice road trucker

January 26, 2014

IMG_3235.JPGLiving around the 50 mile mark of the Elliott highway and 65 miles North of Fairbanks Alaska and since I drive my truck on the same road that the TV ‘Ice road truckers’ drive on….maybe I am a mini ice road trucker. After all during normal winters that 50 miles is usually solid ice and I do drive a truck…yeah I know it is about 40,000 pounds shy of those big rigs but every single one of them passes my cabin as he heads on up to Prudhoe bay. If by chance you have watched the TV show ‘ice road truckers’ then you know of the Dalton highway.  On the TV series you see it covered in snow and ice, here posted below are two home videos of one my trips up the road in late summer and a one minute clip from the opening of my new DVD. This road does not attract the number of tourist that the drive to Homer from Anchorage does because it is truly primitive, and I believe it is the last remaining example of travel through Americas last frontier.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. maryann steen permalink
    January 26, 2014 4:29 pm

    I made the trip from Fairbanks to Coldfoot…did not get any further North..but what a FANTASTIC TRIP I HAD BOTH TIMES! Once in September and once in May. We saw more wildlife in the Spring, but the Alpenglow of the tundra was gorgeous. Thanks for sharing with us!

    Like

  2. January 27, 2014 7:02 am

    My hubby loved that show!

    Like

    • January 27, 2014 6:36 pm

      Just remember you can’t believe everything you see on some of the Alaskan ‘reality’ shows.

      Like

      • January 28, 2014 6:29 am

        Or any reality show for that matter! Like politics and the news too lol.

        Like

  3. January 27, 2014 10:11 am

    Hey Pete – three great videos; the first one brought back lots of memories of my trips to Coldfoot in 2001 and 2002. In early September 2002 I was shocked to see The Haul Road was paved at least to Coldfoot; I didn’t go any farther north due to time constraints. I had t0o believe that was a mistake as while it made for a very smooth ride over time I’d think that macadam would break up and then the road’s surface would be even more rough that when it was just gravel. Anyway, the images really brought back memories of my times on that highway. One of these fall seasons I’m going to make the drive to Prudhoe Bay if only to say I did it! Have a safe trip back to Alaska and, yes, I watched ‘Ice Road Truckers’ for years..!

    Like

  4. January 28, 2014 1:09 am

    Enjoyed your videos. Beautiful scenery, I have only been as far north as Fox. We are still in Anchorage. If any more snow melts, we may need a boat!

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    February 1, 2014 7:02 am

    As you know, Pete, I have the first video; thanks again for that. Must be nice to be back home where it’s warmer than here!
    Looking forward to your second offering, & thanks for the memories of the first one!

    Like

  6. February 14, 2014 1:17 pm

    And we’ve replaced so much of that with concrete in so many places …

    Like

Leave a Reply

