Skip to content

Alaskan Black bear hunting

January 23, 2014

I should use my picture of Alice in Wonderland to begin this posting because of the backwards type of weather we are having here in Texas (in the 20’s so it is cold for Texans) and in Alaska +30’s (warm enough to break temperature records). This upside down weather is fodder for yet another posting about ‘climate change’ later next month, right now with 6 days left here in Texas I have two video postings and a short good-by left to post. Today’s video is a composite of one spring black bear hunt from 1997. For those of us who understand the need for hunting and harvesting of wild game it will be a nice look at bear hunting in Alaska.

Again just another home made video

of various black bear hunts in the early 90’s.

 taken near the Tanana river and in Interior Alaska.

I recommend not playing this video

if you are opposed to the hunting of wild animals

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2014 9:44 pm

    24 degrees and raining all day here

    Like

    • January 24, 2014 12:16 pm

      Well we had 16 this morning…maybe it is the start of the ‘end times’ humm I think I see another posting forming in my mind.

      Like

  2. Del permalink
    January 24, 2014 6:35 am

    My encounter was a little different. 3 wheelers and bears don’t mix to well….. Yea should be that cold in the AM here Rose but without the rain…. Loving it too…. Stay dry

    Like

  3. January 24, 2014 6:59 am

    I’m squeamish so I’ll pass on the video. I just put my cat down and the dead animals will probably remind me of my beloved Hobbes. :( But I always like to support my blogging friends so I’ll give you a like because your blog is one I always look forward to.

    Like

  4. January 24, 2014 6:59 am

    Oh! I can’t like it. Strange…nowhere for me to click Like. :(

    Like

    • January 24, 2014 12:14 pm

      Yes WordPress must have made some changes. When I read the different postings I follow and click the like button a FireFox window opens but then nothing but a blank screen. But I am sure like with your great photography I write to get things off my chest not for validation. Although it does tend to make my hat a little tighter when I see that people other than myself appreciate what I am saying by hitting the like button or commenting.

      Like

      • January 24, 2014 12:49 pm

        LOL. I thought I saw your head growing in your profile photo! haha

        Like

  5. January 24, 2014 9:26 am

    Jeez Pete, I see its well above freezing even in Livengood this morning; we continue to see temps in the middle 30’s with drizzle/rain. I just reported 0.83″ of rain from 07:00 Thursday through 07:00 this (Friday) morning. Its a nasty mess now as there’s still lots of ice but now it has water on it and that’s just really slippery! Loved the end of the video!

    Like

    • January 24, 2014 12:09 pm

      Down here in Texas it was 16 this morning and a balmy 32 this afternoon.

      Like

  6. January 24, 2014 11:51 pm

    Hey, Newbie, glad you liked my warped sense of humor when I was taking video very late one night, LOL. My client got a bear, but my knee brace was causing me some problems from just having had knee surgery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

