Skip to content

Nothing much happned today…

January 4, 2014

pwaterAwakened before the others by the lingering cry of a loan wolf

smoke lifting its fingers into the calm morning air

August so cool almost bordering on cold

the river trip now so long ago but my minds eye sees with focus

the stream running like glass with swift currents below

I thought back to that uneventful day of bears roaming the shoreline

with moose crossing the boats path as fish pulled tight on my line….

Although I am still in Texas it wasn’t a fantasy but I guess you could call the writing above pieces from a day dream. I was sitting at the kitchen table reading a new book entitled “A land gone lonesome” about life along the Yukon river. I stopped for what I thought was a second to take in the many blessings of that day and my mind slipped gears taking me back to one of the many river trips I was on in the 90’s. Sure it was probably because of the book I was reading where the writers words were like paint on a canvas that brought alive that written river journey in my mind…and only a short leap between neurons in my mind to one of the many trips I reveled in when I first arrived in Alaska.

lunch

My stay here so far from home though almost half over has been filled with love and emotion. The stolen moments as I watched, unseen, my son and his wife talk and play with my grandchildren it was like experiencing the most wonderful of perfect days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and to me the rarest gift of all is the smile of my grandson

as he reaches out with almost a knowing look

and takes the hand of his grandpop

p0p

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    January 5, 2014 3:41 am

    YES! :-)

    Like

  2. January 5, 2014 11:30 am

    Very heartwarming, thank you. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

