Skip to content

A Japanese garden in Texas?

December 29, 2013

entry

For a striking change of pace last Friday my son and daughter-in-law drove me to the Fort Worth Botanic Garden. Way back in another lifetime….my wife Terry  loved to attend the Philadelphia flower show and especially the section made over to simulate a Japanese garden. But duplicating a garden inside a building and constructing it in only in one week they never did quite equal what I remember from my time in the Far East.

.

.

.

Well Friday even though it is winter and the colors are less intense,

I was quite surprised at what I found as I walked the many paths through the garden.

woodwalk

pogda on hill

rockon rock

pndwtrfall

pogpondfish

…and of course the meditation garden

rockgrdn

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2013 2:20 pm

    Beautiful!

    Like

  2. December 30, 2013 7:09 pm

    I’ve been there Pete. Very beautiful place but I’m not a fan of those revolting Coi fish.

    Like

  3. January 5, 2014 8:47 pm

    Boy, how did this one get past me? Tonight I’m yearning to be out in the silent open places, standing on the precipice overlooking the valley, small beneath stars and dancing lights. There is peace in these pictures; my soul thanks you.

    Like

    • January 7, 2014 2:31 pm

      Change in my personal policy of replying via email and starting today and I hope I can continue to do direct reply’s on WordPress when I return to my cabin. I didn’t know what I had in the camera when I took the pictures. But when I got back to my son’s home and looked…I agree with you one could almost sense the ‘stillness of mind’ in a couple of the pictures.

      Like

    • January 25, 2014 6:43 pm

      Loved “silent open spaces” and the serene photos. All the best, Diane

      Like

  4. January 7, 2014 4:54 pm

    I lived in Japan for many years in the 90s and every time I see these gardens it kinda takes me home. I have been to the one in Fort Worth a few times over the years. Its nice to see great pictures.

    Like

    • January 7, 2014 8:14 pm

      I was in the far East for over a year and wasn’t expecting much. While walking around shooting the pictures I really didn’t know I had captured a couple good ones. Thank’s

      Like

  5. January 9, 2014 7:41 pm

    Memorable pictures! And they carry special memories that only you can see…
    They recall the Huntington Library in San Marino, CA for me, and the Botanical Gardens in Albuquerque. But even more, the people with whom I saw those places… a gift that your pictures will similarly give you…

    Like

  6. January 18, 2014 8:32 pm

    One of my favorite spots in Ft. Worth and now I have your pictures to remember it!

    Like

  7. January 24, 2014 5:56 pm

    I have not been to these gardens in years. Still beautiful. We always went there after a visit to 6 Flags. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

