Skip to content

Almost time to go…

December 8, 2013

cowboy3The time to done my ‘Stetson’ and board the big bird headed down to Texas for Christmas is fast approaching. With my bags packed and everything removed from the cabin that can freeze all that is left is to shut down the stove and say goodbye. It is a time of mixed emotions because I will get to spend time with my son, his wife and two of my grandchildren but my daughter is spending Christmas in Alaska and my other grandchild is graduating collage in Pennsylvania as a new teacher. How does one balance relationships when people you love are spread over thousands of miles?

Yes I know it was I who chose to live out on the edge of the wilderness in Northern Alaska, but it was only supposed to only be a temporary thing. A kind of short mid-life crisis that both East coast cardiologists and the VA assured me would not last for more than a couple years. Who would have thought that living away from all the pressure and stress of modern city life would be the cure for a defective heart?

I think I may now have a glimmer of my ‘balance’ answer based on how life has been progressing so far. My granddaughter from PA came to Alaska and I had the privilege of sharing with her a small part of it. It was, I guess you could say, a visit that memories are made of. My daughter and I spent Thanksgiving sharing friendship with my Alaskan family and soon I will do the same with my son’s family.

Maybe God has already provided a balance to my life

I just have to open my heart and enjoy it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    December 8, 2013 9:12 pm

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Have a wonderful visit !

    Like

  2. December 9, 2013 6:02 am

    I love your image Morning Sun over our Home. So beautiful! Have a safe trip!! I always look forward to your blog.

    Like

  3. Terry permalink
    December 9, 2013 7:11 am

    Yes, just keep counting your pluses as you go on – enjoy the grandies :-) I know you will :-)

    Like

  4. December 9, 2013 5:37 pm

    Merry Christmas Pete, and have a great visit down in Texas. Safe travels.

    Like

  5. December 10, 2013 11:43 pm

    Have fun. If I get the money I think I’ll drive out long about March to go see great grandchildren. I need another trip down the old Cassiar.

    Like

  6. Jon permalink
    December 12, 2013 9:51 am

    Pete,
    Safe travels & I’m looking forward to speaking with you again! Merry Christmas to you, your neighbors along the Elliot, & your loved ones in Texas, & Pennsylvania.

    Like

  7. December 24, 2013 4:42 pm

    Not too many sharing a family farm thee days; seems to me, you’ve worked it out pretty well…

    Like

  8. January 2, 2014 11:50 am

    Happy New Year! It sounds like you are doing great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

