Skip to content

Frozen recollection

November 3, 2013

IMG_0702I am quite sure there are important earth shaking news events to write about but for the moment with the trees encased in jewel like crystal, sparkling in the short afternoon sunlight has for the moment mellowed this old curmudgeon out. So please bear with me as I walk in the crisp clear air and reminisce about winters long gone. Because like the bears who hibernate in Alaska the old curmudgeon will soon return.

I don’t think I will jinx it if I say winter has arrived out here on the edge of nowhere. It is after all November and we are past the time when we should have had cooler weather. So mother nature decided, starting last Wednesday, to sprinkling us with snow and has dropped her temperatures with an afternoon high today of 17. I am thinking that the snow on the ground today will probably still be here in April.

No I’m not giving up throwing snow balls at Washington but for the moment I just want to reflect. It is, after all, out here a time to hunker down and prepare for some serious cold weather looming on the horizon. It is a time when you go around making sure there is enough heating fuel, food and medicine, for those days when even the ‘ice road truckers’ don’t drive. Yes living like we do out here takes quite a bit of planning and at times luck. But over all since my dear friend Rose cut the first road on her property we have fared the winters pretty well.

DSCF0583.JPGSome projects will have to wait until next year

I remember in the early years out here Rose plowing the snow with only a four wheeler with a small plow attached. It wasn’t easy but I think she enjoyed it because every time she did stop it seemed to me there was a smile on her face. Then there was one year when the four wheeler wasn’t running and word got out to some neighbors and it seemed like every kid in the valley below us joined Paul, Kara’s son, to help open the road with just snow shovels. Now older and probably not that much wiser my body can’t handle a snow shovel and Rose had graduated to a pickup with a snow plow but work is still work especially when it hits 20 below.

For the most part Rose now enjoys writing novels about life in Alaska
along with canning food for those long winter nights to come.
And I am rewarded every time one of you
finds something I have written worthy of your time.

DSCF0590.JPGNovember 2, 2013 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2013 2:01 pm

    Life can be beautiful, even by the shovelful. Winter is my season, maybe because I find nothing wrong with a good layer of fat and naps. :-)

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    November 3, 2013 7:58 pm

    Other things will need to be attended to in the next few months but for now, you sound reasonably content, my friend ;-)

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    November 6, 2013 12:14 am

    Looks like we’ll be joining you with the white stuff on the ground, Pete & the neighbors. Could be up to 5″ by tomorrow morning here in the Twin Cities. Sloppy stuff that won’t last, being in the 40s the rest of the week. Nonetheless, going to check the blower over for the season. Got the ’84 Cutlass in for the winter in time.
    We have a silver maple in the front yard that finally turned orange the last couple days. Always the last to drop the leaves, so I’m keeping the mower handy for mulching!
    Happy shoveling!

    Like

  4. spiritualphilosopher2013 permalink
    November 8, 2013 1:27 am

    Don’t forget about your vitamin d3! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

