Skip to content

Lethargy, irony and cowards

October 15, 2013

the journalistFirst we get a nice layer of snow and a couple days later the snow melts and we have mud everywhere. It seems as if fall will just not surrender to winter. Not that I am complaining but being the resident Curmudgeon I have to put on a good show, and if I were to be upset and miserable my focus should be on myself. Because lately whenever I sit down to write a new posting I have been going in circles, and scattered across my desktop are unfinished postings about:
Drones flying over Alaska
Swat teams accompanying the EPA when they inspected local gold mines.
The obama-care web site that was allowed to open but is still not working.
The US stopping financial aid to Egypt because the Egyptian military didn’t want the Muslim brotherhood to run the country.
That we will pay all government employees furloughed because of the government shutdown.
And my ‘personal’ favorite
social security will increase only 1,5% next year
because the cost of living in the US is rising only 1.5% ?

Whoever sets the guidelines for the cost of living index must have their heads up their ass because even the most basic of living expenses has gone up at least 10 if not 25%. From apartment rentals to bread and eggs, from your electricity bill to home heating oil. I would give thanks if they only went up 1.5% but that is because it effects me personally every time I shop for food or open a bill.

<><><><><><><><><>

So I have dug through the pile of potential posting sitting on my desktop and have resurrected the posting seen below it is one that I started on Friday and I think it still holds true today. It is a bit severe but then that’s how I feel about my representation in Washington I did clean it up a bit and now present it to you for your consideration……

<><><><><><><><><>

It’s that time again to wipe the blood away from your eyes and stop pulling your hair out because we knew the house republicans would not stand their ground. If the men at the Alamo gave in like the republican leadership did Texas would be part of Mexico, and if our men and woman fighting in world war two caved like the our representatives did we would all be speaking German. Yes I know it’s not official yet but the writing is on the wall obama-care is off the table and our government is going to continue to spend more than it takes in when the senate and house passes a budget extension and raises the debit ceiling.

Once again the biased media, showing veterans and children being turned away from our national parks, has led the majority of ill informed people to believe we were destroying our country because of the shutdown. Like many of you I thought that just maybe we now had a chance to force some real budget cuts because of the shutdown. The heavy lifting was done and with the government shutdown even obama and senate democrats would have to make some concessions.

I did not really think we could defund obama-care but I felt surly some government cutbacks would result from the shutdown. Both parties and the president are taking hits in the poles and even now I do not understand why so many are caving in. I am sure they think that if the resolve the crisis now they can still win reelection because they know that ‘we the people’ have short memories.

The one thing that did come out of the shutdown
is proof that everyone of our representatives is a coward
and if ‘they’ were defending our freedom in WW11
this posting would be in German.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    October 15, 2013 9:28 pm

    lion fish! You hit it out of the park again Pete…

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    October 15, 2013 10:33 pm

    Can’t add a thing, Pete. You’re right, these chicken-shit, lilly-livered jello-kneed sobs are looking ahead to the next election rather than at the problems facing us.
    But don’t worry friends, after all they did SOMETHING didn’t they?
    Did I say I couldn’t add a thing?

    Like

  3. October 16, 2013 2:21 pm

    Well, if they didn’t hurry up and pass it, people might start to see that we can get along quite well without most of the federal malarkey. So what if they acted like spoiled 2 year olds and closed PUBLIC FUNDED, not federally funded (the federal government pays no taxes so how can THEY actually fund anything?) sites and spent more money keeping people out of open areas than they saved by closing them? They just reallocate our money back to us and the millions of illegals swarming in and send billions of our dollars to countries that hate us and use the money to fund their agendas against us. Way to go, congress.

    Like

  4. October 17, 2013 11:11 pm

    A thought or two on your thought or two. The outcome was expected. I didn’t expect either side to concede a minute sooner than necessary to stave off Armageddon. My ire is raised about what Congress has doing up until this budget vote came due. Base salary for a member of Congress is $174,000. Multiply that by the number of years in their elected term. Now let’s take a look at what each of them produces. …….. ……….. …….. What’s that you say? Can’t think of a thing? Well, let’s take me, for instance. As a medic, I make something like $60,000 in a good working year. I fix boo-boos, twisted knees, poke you with a needle, and give you a cough drop. I spend a good week of hours updating my training. I’m accountable for my actions, the real threat of death hanging overhead if I truly screw up. Sometimes my job is cushy, other times I get little sleep and a lot of action. If we compare apples to oranges, a member of Congress is on VACATION their entire term. They show up for work, but produce little to show for that presence from what I can see. Sure, they add more laws to the books because that’s their other title, Lawmaker. But it’s easy to see I’m not getting much for that $174,000 you, me and the rest of Americans are shelling out for their salaries. I’m not pissed that the President didn’t cave. I’m not pissed that Congress did. I’m royally PO’d that they had plenty of time, PLENTY, to work out their differences before this point. Their sole purpose is to make sure government operates. They didn’t do that. They paraded, fluffed, huffed, spit and made damn fools of themselves blaming around the circle, and then patted themselves on the back for what they accomplished – a big, fat nothing. Each of them knew this vote was coming and the bozo move was to turn healthcare into a chit. It’s a new, contentious thing, one sure to polarize the haves and the have-nots. It was a sure thing – except the sure thing turned out be an embarrassment as well-paid representatives put, at the very minimum, confidence in government at risk and the collateral damage affected many who should just be able to go to work and put food on the table. The light bill can wait, a hungry tummy or asthma medication probably not. Screw Congress, every member. Not a single one of them will get my vote next time around. I’ll put my mark on any new crazy who wants the job. At least we can blame inexperience on a failure to perform rather than a total disregard for responsibility. Screw the whole lot of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

