Skip to content

Does God hear my prayers

October 6, 2013

Does God really care what I want?


Am I that dense that I think the God who created the universe and everything in it would take the time to hear and answer my prayers? Just think about it a minute….why would God who existed before time had begun take an interest in me, it seems on the surface totally absurd. Yet today millions upon millions of people pray to there God for many varied reasons and do not think twice about how absurd it may be because they have ‘faith’ that he hears them and will answer them.

Faith as defined in Webster’s is…”unquestioning belief…in God”. Though there is no hold in your hand irrefutable proof of his existence, these same millions of people would also die for that very belief. I have read many books postulating tangible proof of the existence of God, and to me a layman these books do seem to put the pieces together and prove his existence. However just like the biased media we have today, one must consider that the author’s of these books may be prejudice towards proving God’s existence.

I was brought up in a christian household and can not imagine life without God watching over me. Do I think he spends hours keeping track of when I forget to pray or that I say a few choice words when I am angry….no. But a being that can create everything in the universe from nothing defying the basic laws of Physics can surely have some way to know when I pray for his help.

So…does God care what I want…no
but I think in some way he knows what I need.

DSCF0514Sawtooth mountains photographed from Wickersham Dome 85 miles away.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    October 6, 2013 10:26 pm

    Pete,
    The beauty in the photos on this page proves it, & thousands of stories over time of people coming back from the dead or a near-death experience & using the word “miracle” to describe it; there really is a God. I’m not a church goer per say myself but that doesn’t mean I’m not spiritual. Just listen to the Leanne Womack song “There Is a God.”

    Like

  2. Raven permalink
    October 7, 2013 11:43 am

    God is always there…………..even in those times that I had doubt, it was because of him, I made it through those storms!

    Like

  3. bob permalink
    October 10, 2013 7:40 am

    I read an article by a scientist and very analytical man who explained that for the world to be as it is without divine intervention would be similar to having an automobile being dismantled in a tornado and having all the parts land together in the right places as the fully assembled automoble.

    Like

  4. October 12, 2013 6:14 am

    Dunno about God, but I have to blame somebody for creation. The size of creation makes me pretty insignificant. The creator seems to have supplied the necessary; I see no sign that the billions of individual prayers and all the related requested changes are altering everything on the scale that would require.
    O figure its my problem to figure out what He’s provided and do the best I can with it. That, after all, is what I see all around me. So I’m not big on prayer, unless maybe an occasional “Thanks!”when it seems to fit…

    Like

  5. October 13, 2013 6:29 pm

    I believe that God hears our prayers if we are sincere enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

