Skip to content

Letting go?

September 27, 2013

Sometimes one has to just let go of what they want in favor of what they can reasonably have. I started this posting with the intention of talking about how ‘old man winter’ may be knocking at the door but the brief Alaskan summer just won’t let go. For the most part I love my winters hear in the woods because it signals about six to seven months of a fairly rounded diet. During the cold months I can bring out frozen vegetables, a better variety of meats and even French bread pizza to be slowly warmed on the heating stove.

So last week when the temperatures started to drop into the 20’s and barely reaching the freezing point during the day I started to have daydreams of entire pots of steaming broccoli or cauliflower cooking on the stove. The window above the stove fogging each time I removed the lid to see if it was done and the aroma filling the sealed cabin I was indeed ready for winter and its many treats. But it is not to be for the winds started a couple days ago and that usually means one thing, a change in the weather.

Today as I ventured out the snow for the most part was gone replaced with mud, a mud that is reminiscent of our Alaskan spring break ups. So my reality of many weeks of wonderful fresh veggies and occasional pizza will have to wait until mother nature eases her grip of summer and allows the beautiful white blanket of winter to surround my home.

DSCF0506.JPG

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2013 2:00 pm

    What anticipation is sacrificed is heaped in treasure at your feet, in the boughs and branches around you – gold, gold everywhere. You are a rich man, indeed. If we could eat the riches that surround us, none of us would go hungry. Such a perfect photograph.

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    September 28, 2013 11:24 am

    We’re a ways from winter here, Pete. 86 today but rain coming tomorrow. 50s next week-end. As Tidelines said, however, great photo of the fall colors & a man in thought. Enjoy while it lasts.

    Like

  3. September 29, 2013 1:59 am

    Hello; it must be fascinating to watch winter come on. Because you’ve had experience with it, you embrace it. Enjoy the seasons!

    Like

  4. October 6, 2013 3:06 am

    Alaska must be as much a state of mind as a location for its inhabitants…My visits, winter and summer, presented a very alien place to this southwestern desert rat. Beautiful however, welcoming to the eye and I suspect, dangerous to all else; a beauty that must be earned. I enjoyed your lesson in waiting; we aren’t very good at it, are we? I remember someone saying: “I’m waiting as fast as I can!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

