Skip to content

China the new US ?

September 15, 2013

china-flag-logo-1-copyIt doesn’t matter anymore weather you are shopping at an auto parts store, Sam’s club, Wall Mart or Sears you will find the same thing… turn the item or box over and you will see ‘Made in China’ staring back at you. I remember back when I was in high school that finding anything with a label marked made in Japan or China would mean it was junk, destined to break soon after you got it home or else it never worked the way it was supposed to. What a difference 49 years makes, now it is almost impossible to find anything made in the United States.

Everyone, myself included, wants to spend as little money as possible for whatever it is we need so in essence we are partially to blame for the loss of Americas manufacturing industry. Another major factor for loss of these manufacturing jobs are minimum wages, unions, and government regulations that make it impossible for companies to build and supply the things we need at the prices we want to pay. And lastly we have the businesses themselves hungry for higher and higher profit. It is no surprise that now instead of the worlds largest manufacturing base we are now the worlds largest ‘service industry’ base. But what does that mean to ‘We the people’?

In a previous posting I wrote about England’s reign as a world power, then after the first and second world wars it was Americas turn and now it is the beginning of China’s time as the preeminent world power. We better get used to it since I see no one, out shopping here in the US, not supporting China’s economy. This financial support leads to the ability of China to modernize and expand its infrastructure and military. Yes it is hard to think of China as the new ‘world superpower’ but I believe that we now have no choice in the matter.

What does strike me as strange is how China has been, for the most part, silent about the Syrian situation. Other than a few comments at the UN they have been glaringly absent from joining the debate on what to do about the chemical weapons Syria has. It is almost like the kid in the school yard who no one bothered with because we knew it would not be good to mess with him. When he saw two other kids fighting he never took sides, but only waited to see the outcome and then figured how it would benefit him.

Maybe China was waiting to see if the US and Russia end up in a conflict
and when we were done China would step in and pick up the pieces.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2013 3:18 pm

    Pete,

    I wish US was doing that well! But, at least US is still the largest manufacturer, barely. And China is the largest polluter, by a lot.

    Thank you,

    Wayne

    Like

    • September 18, 2013 1:48 pm

      I thought we lost the number one spot for manufacturing, Wayne… I have to go back and check the site i got my numbers from.

      Like

  2. Jon permalink
    September 15, 2013 10:41 pm

    Your last paragraph & comment about “picking up the pieces” is sort of along the line of what has crossed my mind from time to time for years. Except I’ve thought why do we have troops in Japan & Germany for example? We’re spreading our military so thin around the world & downsizing it & cutting funding that what is left for us here to defend ourselves & our borders? But then again, a lot of our politicians don’t want to do anything about that issue in hopes of gaining votes to keep their sorry asses in office. Pathetic.
    So yes, good point on China just “laying in the weeds” waiting for us & Russia to beat ourselves down & then China will step in & “save” us.
    Funny, as I was writing this, I think I saw a shooting star on the live cam. Fired at us?

    Like

  3. September 16, 2013 12:02 am

    It’s sure not getting any better, is it?

    Like

    • September 18, 2013 1:46 pm

      This is one of those things that are nearly impossible to change. We would have to learn to look for ‘made in USA’ and pay the higher price. However like a drop of water in the ocean it would take many hundreds of thousands of people acting together to make a difference.

      Like

  4. September 16, 2013 11:48 am

    That sad thing is, it is probably going to get a heck of a lot worse.

    Like

  5. September 16, 2013 12:51 pm

    it is not for power to this world.Chinese immigrants workers support economy

    Like

  6. Terry permalink
    September 21, 2013 4:30 pm

    Personally, I ALWAYS check the label to see where something is made/comes from. And I do my damndest to make sure I buy from a country that I am interested in supporting. I can’t always, because sometimes the market is already cornered by a place I would rather not support, but I try. And I will until I die. I think I need to make my stand – others can do as they see fit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

