Skip to content

Individual self worth

September 12, 2013

Throughout everyone’s life we seek some form of reinforcement that says our life has meaning. Whether it is love from our children or life’s partner, a sense of achievement in our work, or the gratifying experience we achieve from a random accomplishment, these results enhance our lives and make them that much more satisfying.

Even when one lives outside the norms of society like I do, it does give me a sense of self worth when I listen to talk show personalities and they are re-iterating some of the very thoughts and words expressed on this blog. I write, not to gain attention or garner followers, but to release some of the pent up frustration from observing the situation in our country and around the world. If not for this metaphoric ability to open my window and shout at the world, I would only have myself to vent too and I am not yet crazy enough for that.

Last week I heard Glenn Beck talking about the loss of our nations moral compass and how the US is turning upside down when it comes to the rights of the people as a whole, (as in the New American Reality posting). Then this afternoon it was Lura Ingram who echoed my sentiments about the United States heading down the path to becoming a third world power, by stripping the military and trying to bluster and bluff our Presidents will onto other nations. There have been others repeating the words printed on this blog, but these two recent ones stand out in my mind. It not only gives me the satisfaction that I am not alone in my thoughts but reinforces the idea that just maybe these are not just the ramblings of an old man in the woods.

And more importantly it is you my readers who lift my spirits

when I see that you often return to read the latest posting.

I indeed hope that over time you are rewarded with a golden nugget

of humor or thought worthy of your time.

DSCF0457

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    September 12, 2013 9:40 pm

    Keep them coming Pete…… Still miss Boortz too……

    Like

  2. kara permalink
    September 13, 2013 3:37 pm

    well said, Pete. NICE PICTURES!!

    Like

  3. kara permalink
    September 13, 2013 3:40 pm

    That last comment was from Joe and Nancy, not Kara. what did we do wrong?

    Like

  4. September 14, 2013 5:20 pm

    Political issue… I have no comments…
    Anyway…I love your picture! The view takes my breath away!!!!! :D Thank you!

    Like

    • September 18, 2013 1:53 pm

      Thanks for your visits I try and put new pictures up every week and new ones that reflect what i am writing about.

      Like

  5. Jon permalink
    September 14, 2013 10:02 pm

    Well, the old saying is “you can’t see the forest for the trees.” In my case, absolutely true. I was going to email Pete saying I hadn’t seen anything from him for awhile when I discovered just the other day gmail had split my emails into 3 categories so I was missing Pete’s postings for about 2 months, 19 to be exact. Used to get them all lumped together except for spam. Right in front of my eyes.
    So now I’m caught up & a comment on a couple of old postings.
    First from the “curmudgeon” one. Pete had written about his credit rating being lowered by his insurance co. Got a letter from ours saying the same thing last week because too many credit checks. Excuse me, but I was shopping for a car & dealers & financial institutions were running credit checks for loans. Both of us have ratings over 800 last time I saw a report.
    Second comment was about the “simple things” posting. Living here in the Twin Cities, we taxpayers statewide are being forced to pay for new stadiums for the Twins, Vikings about to start to be built & now one for the minor league baseball team. Then expansion of light (f)rail. I get by with a flip phone, no email, texting for me. My computer is 8 yrs. old; just fine.
    Back to my first paragraph, I drive a transit bus for a living, does anyone want to ride with me? :)

    Like

  6. September 15, 2013 1:57 am

    O boy, I avoid talk show commentary, and I like myself plenty for it. When I lived remote, I has an o-l-d radio with crystals and tubes and big dials, and it was as big as a box of groceries from town. By moonlight, I’d lay on the floor, chin cupped in one hand, the other inching the dial around to catch news from the world – Japan, something Scandinavian, Radio Free Europe, something in Latin or Spanish. The small universe around me consisted of tide, weather, mountain slopes and wilderness, so radio brought the only other sound of humanity. What world existed outside my universe was surreal. I think many Americans live in surreality, insulated from the world of chaos, war, devastation, and cruelty that makes up daily life elsewhere. What Glenn Beck contributes to that, or Hannity or Palin or any other commentator who tells us what’s wrong with our small universe detracts from what good there is anywhere. Cynic, skeptic that I am, solitary life grounded me in thankfulness for what is good and right out there. Value that.

    Like

    • September 18, 2013 1:52 pm

      I too love the isolation of living in a remote cabin, but because I have family in the lower 48 I listen each day to whatever news i can get. The radio commentators are restricted not by me but by what I can tune in and receive. I would welcome some liberal radio, because i always need a laugh. But like tonight I can turn the radio off and it is so quiet i can hear the snow falling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

