Skip to content

An Alaskan Zen moment…

August 26, 2013

P1020765I know this will sound old fashioned but, it hit 39 overnight and the cool daytime air just makes me want to just get out and be one with the wilderness. So for now I only have bits and pieces of postings on my desktop and I can blame it on the absolutely great weather the past few days. Sure I have felt the hair on my neck straighten when I hear some of the current news reports, and I have started to write about this or that but for the moment nothing is finished. I will soon awaken the old Curmudgeon out of his idyllic contemplation and have him compile some postings that you are more used to.

 

But for tonight I will just post a few pictures of fall in Alaska and say the weather today is some of the best Alaska has to offer, and I truly wish you were with me when these pictures were taken.

Fall on the tundra near the foothills of the Brooks mountain range.

Photograph by Anthony

Photograph by Anthony

The Southbound view from the top of Chandlar Shelf.

Photograph by Anthony

Photograph by Anthony

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    August 26, 2013 1:45 pm

    My favourite time of the year in Fairbanks! I love the way it smells!

    Like

  2. Gina permalink
    August 26, 2013 7:17 pm

    Gorgeous!

    Like

  3. August 27, 2013 12:51 am

    I love Alaska!!!

    Like

  4. August 27, 2013 12:24 pm

    Fab photos and looking forward to the promised posts.

    Like

  5. August 27, 2013 1:16 pm

    Good thoughts and beautiful pictures.. as always! Our’s is a beautiful state. Glad your here sharing it with the rest of us!

    Like

  6. August 28, 2013 6:03 am

    Autumn in Alaska is so special, isn’t it? Unfortunately, it means that winter is on its way, which I’m trying to ignore. Cheers and take care.

    Like

  7. August 29, 2013 12:51 am

    Wonderful pictures. Is the fireweed blooming to the tips? We learned that indicated summer was nearing its end?

    Like

Leave a Reply

