Skip to content

Exploring a different road

August 20, 2013

P.1Today I invite you to venture down a different pathway of my mind. For as I was writing a posting about Alaska my mind took a turn and the result is as follows…….I am definitely not a writer, most of my adult life I ran a printing press. Then for a short time I worked as an fishing guide and lastly a documentary producer and editor. So where do I get off thinking I can write something that others total strangers would find interesting? Having something to say is one thing but writing about it for a blog is another. You can not just sit down and write what you are thinking without being able to express those, positive or negative, feelings in such a manner that the reader wants to explore them more thoroughly.

Some weeks I have an over abundance of things to write about, other weeks I have to seek out new topics. This has been a week where I have the topics but just can not find the words. Hence my understanding and respect has increased for those bloggers who produce thought provoking postings on an almost daily basis. Every night that I manage to get online I read the numerous blogs that I follow and I also surf the other blogs WordPress has to offer. There is indeed some writers in this ‘community’ that produce works that are equal to or better than those found in the “professional” media.

I believe that this is another case of Pro vs Semi-Pro, only within the WordPress community these remarkable writers do not aspire for recognition but just to express there feelings. The fact that in doing so they craft writings that are at times far and above those so called professionals in the ‘main stream’ media. And this accomplishment does not only reside within the writings of bloggers it extends to the photography that can be found in abundance here.

Yes it is true that the majority of photographs found on the WordPress blogs are, like the ones I capture and use, taken by amateurs and at there nature are very basic. But If you spend any time at all surfing the blogs you will find some that are indeed worthy to be classified as ‘art’. I have discovered many a picture that made me pause and enjoy what the photographer has presented. In some cases I have found photographs that I would very much like to hang on my wall.

All of this from great writing to excellent art residing within the walls of the WordPress community. And no I am not on the payroll of WordPress in fact I have searched for other communities similar to ours and have found none that are close to what we have here.

So I must say thank you for inspiring me to represent life and its experiences
with more laudable writing and possibly more expressive photographs.

DSCF0116.JPG

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Texasjim permalink
    August 20, 2013 8:45 pm

    Pete do not put your self down. I love to read your blog every day. You give me a pick up and some days a good laugh. When you are out of water and the temp. is 104+, it is nice to see the trees, mountains and snow.
    Please do not give me the OUT OF PAPER award.

    Like

  2. August 21, 2013 7:40 am

    It doesn’t matter to me what you write about, as long as I know you’re alright, and things are going well. I miss you. Have you figured anything out about making a side trip for graduation?

    Like

  3. August 22, 2013 12:15 am

    I enjoy roaming through the blog world, but haven’t yet found a page that lets me go blog-to-blog on WordPress? Google lets you do that, but I luck out when I find a WordPress blog to peruse. As far as just writing to express yourself, I do it all the time; it would be unpleasant effort to write about something I don’t have a feeling for. I end up, some days, writing about a road trip to nowhere, but what the heck. It’s all conversation.

    Like

  4. August 24, 2013 5:11 pm

    You did a great job! I have to say thank you for allowing us to venture deeply to your true feeling. Nothing is more valuable than one’s own experience and feeling. I like reading your blog as in here I find uniqueness that I hardly can find in anywhere else. :D

    Like

  5. August 27, 2013 1:18 pm

    Finding words for a project, be it a blog, an article or a book is taxing. Taxing to the mind and if you let it, taxing to the body. It seems you’ve found your words for the day.. i’m off to find mine! (Hiding under the couch no doubt!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

