Skip to content

Questions for God from the wilderness

August 4, 2013

Since my first blog I have endeavored to not write on the subject of God or religion, basically because I believe one’s beliefs are personal. Don’t get me wrong there have been many instances where something in our world occurred and I questioned my belief’s, but to metaphorically put it on paper for all to read well I have always thought that it is a subject best left to the individual.

So what has changed?….I have.

At this moment, while typing this, I do not know if this posting will ever see the light of day, because it is more a personal struggle of late that has me questioning my beliefs. I was brought up to give thanks when praying before asking for Gods help, but when after years of praying for exactly the same thing and not only is there no change but things get worse, sooner or later it will give one pause.

I know that the bible says, God knows what you need before your ask and that if you ask for something in his name it will be granted to you. But I also know that if one were unworthy and sinful you may be punished for your sins by being denied what you are asking for. But if you are pleading for help for others and not yourself I would think God would reach out and help.

So herein lies my confusion would a loving and just God punish or forsake the innocent for the wrongs of a sinful man? I guess this question, that to me has no earthly answer, will continue to test my faith. But then again I wonder if my questioning Gods existence is indeed his purpose. Because at present I am examining even more deeply my travels down life’s road and the mistakes I have made.

For now I will find a quiet place
and continue to pray for those that I have been,
because after all……….
all we have in life is hope and prayer.

photo by Anthony

photo by Anthony

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2013 2:17 pm

    Nice post. I can’t even get one picture to actually post and yours turn out so well, lol. May I add a link to your blog if I can figure out how?

    Like

  2. August 4, 2013 4:21 pm

    Deep, deep reflections, Pete. We must get together.

    Like

  3. unalaska permalink
    August 5, 2013 3:38 pm

    I’m thinking that this is a downright honest and thought provoking post.

    Like

  4. Terry permalink
    August 5, 2013 7:54 pm

    I think you are right.

    Like

  5. Terry permalink
    August 5, 2013 7:55 pm

    I think you are right, unalaska.

    Like

  6. August 6, 2013 1:20 pm

    I wonder why we consider God only from within the parameters of the Bible? Perhaps God the Creator, God the Universe, God the Omniscient…perhaps without all the explanations given of Who and What God is, we might find ourselves not needing to question or ascribe what happens between birth and death to something defined in a book?

    Like

  7. August 19, 2013 6:47 am

    What sort of God one pictures seems to come up. How could the Creator of All worry about my infected left little toe? C’mon! Or for that matter, the death of an innocent child. Death is His design anyway. And so is a percentage of folk who run around decapitating others they don’t want around.

    I don’t think I should bother the Creator of the universe. I should do what I can with what comes to hand and hope. If it doesn’t work out, well, we’re born to die aren’t we? My great grandmother was a faithful church goer but she repeatedly said: “God helps those who help themselves!” His idea of helping may diverge a long way from our desires or expectations, anyway.

    I’ll just leave it to Him. (Which is pretty much what happens anyway, right?)

    Like

  8. August 20, 2013 2:38 pm

    I love the way you think probably because I’ve asked that very question. If one is born ignorant of Jesus for instance but is a wonderful person yet just doesn’t believe in Jesus, are they excluded from heaven? I also even wonder if heaven is like our solar system with god being like the sun and all the souls are like the planets orbiting around. And as we become more enightened, we get closer to god with each birth, learning of lessons and death. I it more important to be a good, loving spiritual person or is it more important to believe in Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

