Skip to content

The empty tundra?

August 1, 2013

Today out in the woods nothing happened….

For a change I will restrain my usual Curmudgeon-nes thoughts and just say it was a sunny day where nothing much happened. Of course this is not true but even I tire of writing about the foibles of our world. I did however have to drive to a place called Wickersham Dome, about 28 miles from my cabin, to make a phone call. On the way there I stopped at the only store on the Elliott highway for 50 miles and had a nice cup of coffee. While there two earth scientists had a posting on the “Circle to Circle” blog, the photo’s were taken up on the North Slope. I don’t think I will complain about how bad the mosquitoes are around here any more!

NS-mosq

NS:mosq

Then as I was leaving the store a visitor by the Arctic circle sign caught my eye
and I snapped the picture below.

DSCF0289.JPG

Finally after I finished my call and was driving home
I was lucky enough to find this moose eating by the highway.

DSCF0353.JPG

As I finished my trip I thought that no matter what is going on in our world
there are others that are worse off than we are
and there are things for us to see that will make our day a little better

if we only open our eyes and look…

photo by Anthony

photo by Anthony

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    August 1, 2013 7:06 pm

    Well done! Love it!! :-D

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    August 1, 2013 7:06 pm

    Oh, and what a nice day for you!

    Like

  3. August 2, 2013 9:10 am

    I haven’t seen rainbows for more than a decade!!! I wonder what it feels like when I look at it in person…

    Like

  4. August 3, 2013 1:31 pm

    My eldest daughter and I were driving back to Fairbanks from visiting her sister in Anchorage. We took our time, stopped and took pictures, ate at a little roadside cafe (Creekside north of Cantwell is wonderful, by the way), and discussed any and every random topic. I commented on how I was confident I would die happy. Die happy? Mom, what are you talking about? I thought about what I meant and explained to her that, no matter what passes or befalls me in life, regardless of the challenges and perceived hardships, I’m confident my outlook will be one of optimism, even facing death. It’s been a good life, worthy of a few stops along the way to check out the ditch, smell the roses, enjoy the scenery. Whether the car starts when I get back in it makes no difference when the stop has been worth it. Life is nothing if it’s not enjoyed. Do it with eyes and heart wide open.

    Like

Leave a Reply

