Skip to content

Just another Alaskan day…

July 24, 2013

Reflections on a day that nothing happened………

DSCF0339.JPGAs I opened my eyes today I could not help but notice that the cool rain and drizzle of the past few days was gone and it was replaced by dazzling sunshine. Then as I walked outside I couldn’t miss the distinct lack of mosquitoes looking for their daily blood donation. So far it was a nice morning to ease into until I opened my ice chest and found my summer refrigerator was now a make shift swimming pool. So with food that would go bad in a day I decided to make a run into town.

 

 

I will not bore you with the mundane happenings in Fairbanks for that part of the day was definitely SSDD, it was on the drive home that things were definitely different. For months I have promised myself to stop along the way and take some pictures but I always seem to get into a rut, ignoring my surroundings to return as fast as I can to my mental cabin/cave. But today for some reason I played a CD I hadn’t listened to in years*. It was I think the words that triggered the urge to stop and “smell the roses” so to speak.

DSCF0335.JPGIf we give our mind free reign it sometimes will surprise us with some very odd connections. Though surrounded with million of acres of wilderness beauty my mind pulled me to reality when the CD spoke of people we have angered…though I am not violent, or people I have hurt…though I am not cruel and when I stopped and was taking some pictures my mind like the morning fog clearing from a lake gave me some clarity. I understood that throughout my life I may have indeed provoked anger, hurt or fear but it was because I never took the time to truly understand the reason for the actions of others, and that just maybe I should look at others as they would see me. I made a few stops on the drive home and the result is the mundane pictures I offer to you. But though they are not worthy of praise it was that act of taking the time to photograph them that broke my routine and allowed me to see life a bit differently.

No matter where we live we do at times get stuck in a routine
and begin to ignore the wonders around us. And weather it be majestic mountains, a baby in its crib, a child smiling or a companion sitting next to us, I have learned today, we must cherish these moments because they will soon be gone.

DSCF0337.JPG

*Moody Blues…’Question of Balance’

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2013 1:46 pm

    Gorgeous pics! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. July 24, 2013 2:17 pm

    Hi, Pete! Here I am in hot old Texas, missing our wilderness. Your photographs are wonderful and I felt this cool breeze blow over me as I looked at them. Hope you are well.

    Like

  3. Gina permalink
    July 24, 2013 8:26 pm

    The pictures are beautiful …need I say more. It brings a tranquil calmness………..

    Like

  4. Terry permalink
    July 24, 2013 9:23 pm

    My taste of the interior for today ;-)

    Like

  5. July 26, 2013 1:48 am

    Always a good scenic drive (except when it’s snowing and blowing), with plenty of compelling pull-outs for pics, fishing, or simply breathing in the silence. I drive through Canada at least once a year and scold myself for not stopping more often. There are rewards in detours, no matter how far, how long. Surprise yourself more often.

    Like

  6. July 26, 2013 3:15 am

    This is beautiful country! Love your photos!

    Like

  7. unalaska permalink
    August 5, 2013 3:47 pm

    Now there you go Pete. Smelling the roses makes our life connections worthwhile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

