Skip to content

Bite me?

June 25, 2013
tags:
by

mosquetoeOK I know we Alaskans are a known as a hardy bunch of people. We deal with temperatures every winter in the -50’s, snow depth that is recorded in feet, volcanoes that curtail all flights in the state, earthquakes on a weekly basis and forest fires that burn millions of acres but this year most of us have had enough of what we jokingly call the Alaskan state bird…the mosquito. I have never seen as many headlines in different newspapers. The Alaska Dispatch and the Fairbanks Newsminer have both carried numerous articles about the mosquito problem.

This year unlike any other these bugs have effected almost every outdoor activity during our brief summer. Now I can’t speak for others but my outside ‘to-do’ list has barely been touched this year. Every time I venture outside they attack with a vengeance and make even walking uncomfortable. My nights have become a battle to try and fall asleep between bouts with the little buggers. No matter how we try somehow they have find a way into most peoples homes. I have even awakened to find hundreds of them on the screen over my bed trying to find some small point of entry.

I say enough is enough
I would gladly surrender summer this year for the cool weather of fall
with it’s nights of quite without that buzzing telling me it’s time to donate more blood.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. kara permalink
    June 25, 2013 4:23 pm

    now you see why i hahve always liked winter’s,, no bugs,

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    June 25, 2013 7:56 pm

    It would be nice right now if all those folks who love all things “natural” came up with a nice, natural, “home made” mosquito repellant – THAT WORKS – they could make a fortune! Seems most people are depending on the commercial brands as there is little to be had in the stores, I read.

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    June 30, 2013 9:26 pm

    One of those rarities where Alaska has seen 90 degrees before Minnesota too!

    Like

  4. July 2, 2013 2:14 am

    I lived in the waft of a hot springs and had no skeeter problems. Apparently, the sulfur smell or algae in the water deterred the miserable little beasts. Now I’m on my last two cans of Buhach with the word (and reward) out to all friends to grab any they find and I’ll make it worth their while. How come the good guys go out of business, hmm?

    Like

  5. Del permalink
    July 3, 2013 10:46 pm

    thermacells works great too!!! Yea and buhach is and has been out of business fro 2 years now… We still have some. But will keep as a collectors piece…. lol

    Like

  6. July 4, 2013 5:17 am

    I heard every collector has his price…

    Like

  7. July 6, 2013 2:24 am

    Thanks for following my blog. I’ll try to get some fishing and other photos up from this part of Alaska. When I read “Bite me”, I like your comment about donating blood – the mosquitoes have been ferocious here this year, the worst I can remember!

    Like

Leave a Reply

