Skip to content

April snow?

April 11, 2013

DSCF0194.JPGSomeone in the distance is talking about a winter weather warning, just dreaming I thought as I rolled over. But the talking continued and I realized it was the clock radio going off as reality swept over me. My first impression was hallucinations and hot flashes. Hallucinations because it was April 9th and spring had arrived weeks ago so what were they talking about with a winter advisory? The hot flashes was because I was nearly sweating and I know I had turned down the heater to it’s lowest setting, so either hot flashes or the outside temperature had gone up over night.

Now having a rapid temperature increase doesn’t sound like a bad thing and in truth it isn’t but it usually is accompanied by a strong change in the overall weather. So still half asleep I dressed and made my way downstairs. Then while the water was coming to a boil I opened the curtain and realized why the increase in temperature, it was snowing. Yes I know it started yesterday but that was almost like dust coming down, this morning and at some point overnight it had decided to get serious.

So now with the winter weather advisory and the hot flashes explained I sipped my morning infusion of caffeine and waited for the fog to lift. I decided against listening to the usual complement of talk shows and opted for NPR’s Alaska today, hoping for an un-aggravating but informative show with which to stir my still inactive brain cells. Today they were interviewing indigenous people that hunted whales for subsistence on Alaska’s Northern coastline. Of coarse this being NPR they could not just talk about the whale hunters providing food for their communities without bringing in an outside biologist talking about how global warming was harming the whale hunts.

If I was going to get blindsided by NPR I decided to tune in to the regular talk shows and heard a news story about some crazy guy stabbing 14 people in Texas with a knife. I just had to wonder if I would next hear that our congressmen and senators would be asking for background checks on people buying knives. Or maybe limiting the number and length of knives sold, or how about something like you must be 21 or older to purchase a knife? I guess not since children only need parents permission to go on a field trip or take an aspirin in school but not to get an abortion or buy a knife.

One other story made me want to go back to bed and it was about the Associated press instructing all of their reporters that it was no longer acceptable to use the term illegal immigrant. The AP Stylebook’s Senior Vice President and Executive Editor Kathleen Carroll says, “Our goal always is to use the most precise and accurate words so that the meaning is clear to any reader anywhere.” Carroll said, The change, effective immediately, prohibits the use of the term “illegal immigrant.”

Making new laws to erode the second amendment
while a man stabs 14 people with a knife.

Requiring parents permission for field trips and the of taking aspirin
while allowing the abortions without parents knowledge.

Not being allowed to call someone who breaks the laws of the United States
and enters the country illegally and illegal alien

This is not is not the America I grew up with,
I think I will go out and shovel some more snow……

DSCF0195.JPG

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 3:39 pm

    I am certainly glad it finally stopped enough for me to plow today. Much deeper and the plow truck would not have made it up the hill between Kara’s and the top. At one point, we had all three pickups stuck. What a lovely day. Until there are some windshield wipers on the plow truck, I can’t plow while it is snowing and even when it has stopped, the snow blowing back on the windshield makes it difficult to see through.

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    April 11, 2013 9:41 pm

    This late unappreciated snowfall … the last feeble kick of a sheep herder’s nightmare, according to my dad ;-)

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    April 12, 2013 12:25 am

    Hell, I commented on the wrong one about April snow. I left that on SSDD!!! LOL!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

