Skip to content

Cabin fever, meteor’s and beer.

February 21, 2013

IMG_0702Today though the sun is blinding in it’s intensity it emits no heat, and as if to prove this the temperature at noon was -6. Now with over 8 hours of sunlight I am sure for normal Alaskans it is the wrong time of year for ‘cabin fever’, however for some reason I can feel the earth sliding beneath my boots as I sink into it’s dark embrace. The saying SSDD is now, for me, written in capital letters. My daily routine of household chores, visiting neighbors, ham radio, writing for the blog and evenings of DVD’s has become… well empty.

It started when I was on the radio and I realized that I didn’t care if I made any contacts and became more obvious when I perceived the futility of my writing about situations that haven’t changed over the course of months and years. Also the once enjoyable pursuit of listening to the various talk shows has become a painful repetition of admonishment, with one side blaming the other. When thrown into that mix a personal lifestyle that is becoming less attainable, the result is my own personal form of cabin fever.

The desire to write is still there, it is only the will to write that has been darkened. Even now though going out of my way not to listen to the news from around the world some news filters through and like an itch that must be scratched, in my mind I composes a response. I guess one should not loose hope, if it were so our founding fathers would have continued to pay taxes to Britain and our national anthem would be ‘God save the Queen’. Though not quite ready to address the upsetting news of the day, maybe a brief foray into a couple lighter events may be in order.

For instance did anyone beside myself find it odd that within 24 hours of asteroid212 DA14 passing within 17,200 miles of earth we have a “meteor” slamming into our atmosphere and causing over a thousand causalities in Russia. Or the fact that a there were sightings over California, Florida and other US cities of meteor’s burning up as they passed the earth? The conspiracy buffs are going crazy over this saying the meteor in Russia was actually some kind of aircraft shot down by the Russian military. Others including myself are thinking that our government knew that there were companion rocks with asteroid 212 DA14 and that they knew they would fall to earth, but our government did not want to create any panic so it decided not to inform the general public.

Another item that I read about a couple weeks ago that caught my attention may make beer drinkers around the world feel better. The Alaskan Brewing Co in Juneau, Alaska is going ‘green’. It seems that they were motivated by the high cost of electricity in Alaska and devised a new approach to generating their own electricity, not by solar or wind power but by beer power. Apparently the thousands of pounds of waste produced in brewing the beer can be used in boilers to create electricity. I wonder if I can use the waste from the bear I brew in my bathtub to charge my batteries???

Yes I know it’s not my usual biting criticism and for the most part the stories do not involve life changing events but hey it’s the beginning of a climb out of the darkness of this years ‘cabin fever’. And you should know that the comments you have posted have made me realize that the simple words of friends has lifted the spirits of this old man. So for my mental well being and your entertainment I have started once again to listen to the numerous talk shows. So I can assure you it will not be long before I am once again banging my head against the symbolic wall that is our government in Washington.

Until then I will open the curtains, let in more sunlight and ponder this our universe, looking for those symbolic rocks that need to be turned over and examined more closely in the light of day.

the journalist

13 Comments leave one →
  1. moutnaingirl permalink
    February 21, 2013 5:02 pm

    I am glad you are out of your rut! I like the Jolly Pete! :o)

    Like

  2. unalaska permalink
    February 21, 2013 5:36 pm

    It must be time for a new hobby! My husband recently decided to save money and start roasting his own coffee. Tastes great, but our house definitely smells like a roasting house for several days. Not to mention the fact that he opens almost all the doors and windows in the process, Haha. On second thought, perhaps not a good hobby for your area of Alaska in the winter. Glad you seem to have a good attitude about your spring fever.

    Like

  3. Gina permalink
    February 21, 2013 9:53 pm

    You wrote that with your cabin fever ” I perceived the futility of my writing about situations that haven’t changed over the course of months and years.”Have you considered the other side of the coin? Your writings are reaching an amazing number of people electronically through your blog and perhaps all these new people you are reaching are thinking a little more about the situations we live with. You’re like Johnny Appleseed….planting the seeds ,however small, that will grow into action…….. Just a thought :)

    Like

  4. bob permalink
    February 22, 2013 3:59 am

    So how’s the new camera?

    Like

  5. Ron Giuntini kb6gk permalink
    February 23, 2013 5:57 am

    Want you to know I really like reading your posts. It’s nice to hear what it is like away from the insanity of california. Cheer up and enjoy the distance from here.

    Like

  6. February 23, 2013 7:42 pm

    Love the photos you have here. Been wondering when you would get back to me with the info on your uncle – whatever you happen to know will help, but I do have a Leyte Gulf post being prepared for you and a couple of other Navy boys.

    Like

    • Jon permalink
      February 24, 2013 5:14 am

      gpcox,

      My wife is from Eastern Samar! So hello or, as they say, kumusta!

      Like

  7. ekk2 permalink
    February 24, 2013 4:53 am

    Glad you are writting again, it is the everyday of it that is hard. I agree with you about asteroid 212 DA14: all those other impacts and they are not related. Sorry, not buying that one.

    Like

  8. Jon permalink
    February 24, 2013 5:16 am

    Pete,

    I think that Texas vacation made you a little bit soft, my friend! Good to hear you’ll be getting back to your “old ways”.

    Like

  9. Raven permalink
    February 26, 2013 1:20 pm

    Your writing keeps your mind active and young and the many topics you touch on, alot of other people wouldn’t think of writing about. And I just took a closer look at the picture of your cabins main wall. Is there room to squeeze anything else on there? It fits you!

    Like

  10. Tricia permalink
    February 28, 2013 12:15 pm

    Love you and miss you dad… Deb says me too
    Tricia

    Like

  11. March 9, 2013 2:36 pm

    With all the sunshine and heat will will be seeing fireweed and lupine soon…..like the write …afraid i was thinking along the same lines as far as the government is concerned…….just wondering when someone local will suspend a student for drawing a gun or knife on paper in school …the whole world seems to be out of control

    Like

Leave a Reply

