Skip to content

A different perspective #1

February 14, 2013
by

DSCF0078

Against the intense blue of the Alaskan sky the fresh snow topped the trees wore a crown of white. Our fresh plowed drive was an open artery maintaining the life blood of our home’s.

A walk I take, when health will allow, never failing to notice the changing beauty. One can not imagine replacing this visual feast with crowd’s of people and hoards of homes.

Some say one must be crazy to live alone in the wilderness

I say sanity is not found in crowded selfishness.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2013 4:58 pm

    Just hope we don’t get more snow for a while so that driveway remains open. The plow truck has a brake that catches and it slid sideways off into the flower bed here in my yard while I was plowing this last snowfall. So, I wasn’t able to complete the job.

    Like

    • February 14, 2013 5:01 pm

      Oh yeah, broke the tow strap 3 times tryng to get it out, and it may become a planter right where it sits.

      Like

  2. Terry permalink
    February 14, 2013 6:54 pm

    What a beautiful view, Pete. There’s a lot worse things in life ;-)

    Like

  3. Del permalink
    February 14, 2013 10:42 pm

    Yea Pete and Ros those were the days…… Remember them well…. I can remember in years past when I was coming back from Nenana to Eureka when no road maintenance was beyond Minto and it was snowing to beat then band. I wound up driving the dog truck back and when I was driving it was about 8 inches deep on the road and when I got there I parked at the cabin and got up the next day and that was it until breakup… Good thing for dogs and snow go’s….
    Just wish they invented digital cameras and Go Pro cams when I was there. All my pics are really old….

    Like

  4. Terry permalink
    February 19, 2013 7:11 am

    Very interesting memory, Del – would love to read more!

    Like

  5. Del permalink
    February 19, 2013 11:11 pm

    My Gosh I would have to start my own blog then Terry… lol
    But i am going to have a chapter in my sisters book……..Wow would that be a heck of a book……

    Like

    • Terry permalink
      February 20, 2013 7:17 am

      Keep us informed, Del – your bush experiences sound like they would be very interesting reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

