Skip to content

A thought on cold weather…

January 29, 2013

DSCF0052.JPGAs I was waiting for my morning tea to brew I looked out the cabin window just as the sun had broken over the top of the hills across the valley. Because of lack of caffeine and nicotine the old brain had not engaged yet and as I turned and looked at the temperature gauge the numbers didn’t register. I knew it was -47 in Fairbanks because when my alarm goes off the radio is set to the NOAA weather station, but as my little temperature gauge numbers of -29 were starting to seep into the reality of my day and I realized it would be another cool one.

 

Yes cool and cold are as relative as warm and hot depending on what you and your body are used to. To me winter in Alaska is the best time of year, not for the cold but the lack of bears, mosquitoes and yes tourists. Don’t get me wrong I love our brief spring and summer, you get a chance to do all the stuff you put off all winter, or maybe ignore that list you made last winter. To me warm weather mainly means fishing, or more to the point a chance to stand by some stream or lake and absorb the zen of fishing.

 

DSCF0050.JPGBack to the cool weather… Even though I have been in Alaska since 1995 and I see nothing odd when my neighbor Paul BBQ’s when the temperature hits the 20’s or 30’s, I guess age is catching up with me. These cool evenings one can find me not in the cabins main room but huddled next to my stove as I watch my evenings DVD on the TV. It has not gotten cold enough yet to drive me to the loft for the evening. This is where all the heat in my cabin resides and when we start to hit the overnight temp’s of -30 or more, the warmest place in my home.

 

If there was a graph of some sort for old folks about when they can expect things to start to go wrong with there bodies, I am sure there would be a place for tolerance to cold weather on it.

DSCF0028.JPG

Maybe that graph is different for Alaskans

at least I hope it is…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    January 29, 2013 4:04 pm

    My Philipina wife would freeze at 59! We keep it at 72 when we’re home.
    You’re right winter seems colder when you’re older. Looks like you’ll be warming up some this week while we’ll be at -15 Fri. morning.

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    January 30, 2013 7:05 am

    Yahoo! -11F !?! I have been thinking about you in this cold! Now a bit of a warm up :-D

    Like

  3. Raven permalink
    January 30, 2013 11:52 am

    Anam complaing about 19F and my old house not keeping the heat. Stay warm

    Like

  4. Raven permalink
    January 30, 2013 11:54 am

    Oops, typo…..And here I am complaining about the 19F and my old house not keeping the heat……Stay warm!

    Like

  5. January 30, 2013 2:39 pm

    Pete, you wussie, lol. What can I say, when I built that place, it wasn’t intended for year around living.

    Like

Leave a Reply

