Skip to content

What is truth?

January 27, 2013
by

DSCF0036.JPGTalk about letting your mind run wild. On the trip back from a not too warm Fairbanks today I made the mistake of listening to talk radio instead of music. The host was going back and forth with a caller about the ‘facts’ relating to gun control. The host kept asking the caller where he got his facts from and the caller replied with well where do you get yours from? Both I am sure were basing their comments on what they had read as gun control facts. But where can we find the truth to anything anymore. Today all books are slanted and there is no ‘truth’ to be found.

For us as adults this may be fine, we can reason things out, but what about our children in school? Even textbooks today are slanted depending on the publisher. Think I am wrong, check out some current history textbooks and read about the civil war the Vietnam war or the Gulf conflict and for those of us who lived through that period of history it will read like science fiction. The basic facts are there along with dates, but it is the context of how these conflicts are presented that makes me scratch my head and think I must have been asleep when they decided that.

Many years ago I endeavored to find historical proof of a man called Jesus. I spent hours at the library and online seeking out what ‘facts’ I could find, and after months of on and off digging I came away with no answer. There were so many books on the subject but they followed two roads. One saying he was a myth created by the leaders of the early church and the other presenting what they said were historical ‘facts’ that said he did indeed walk this earth.

So it is all a mater of what and who you put your trust in. You may be a believe that our president is out to destroy our country or that he is the best president ever elected, it all depends on what you have read or heard and believe. So where my friends do we find the ultimate truth? I think that depends on what truth we are looking for. If it is about our country and politics then there is only one source for the basic principles our constitution. The men that wrote it knew they would be killed for doing so and this gave them a huge motivation for truth and common good. If it is religion, than I say go to the source, the bible. Yes I know it was written well after Jesus died and quite a bit of it is second and third hand information, but in reading the words put down so long ago one finds, no feels, the ‘truth’ contained therein.

So I think when the president commented during his first election campaign that everyone should fear the man that protects his flag, (aka constitution), and his bible with his gun, maybe he was right for once. So please excuse me I am done reading my bible and before I go out and do some target practice I have to untangle my flag in the driveway.

apeteflag

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    January 27, 2013 10:07 pm

    Hi Pete. Love your blog. FYI, the Old Testament section of the Bible was actually written long before the birth of Christ (1400bc estimated).. It’s a collection of books by 40 men over a period of about 1600 years. The Bible is truth, inspired by God. There is no other book like it, my most favorite read.

    God bless. Keep writing.

    Like

  2. delbert permalink
    January 27, 2013 11:32 pm

    uh oh Pete! Is that an assault rifle I see there? Good post.

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    January 27, 2013 11:43 pm

    As far as school history books go, I have also heard that our forefathers were being portrayed as alcoholics, slave owners, much more than their accomplishments. While this may or may not be true, this kind of “reporting” puts the wrong ideas into kids’ heads of what this country’s principles are & what it used to represent. A sort of anti-Americanism.

    Like

  4. unalaska permalink
    January 29, 2013 8:58 am

    I was going to post a comment, but it turned out a little wordy. Since your post made me deeply think, I blogged about it. Just warning you that I embedded a link to this post. Thanks for the reflections.

    Like

  5. February 12, 2013 2:53 pm

    Wow! Pete …. seems we have a lot more in common then first thought …I also studied the many books of the bible and even took eight years of computer study of Torah and Tanakh……wanted you to know I enjoyed this post very much ….

    Like

    • February 14, 2013 3:31 pm

      Thanks for your good words. I also enjoyed the ‘swing’ posting with the heart shaped clock. Though I didn’t know about the ‘old’ truck I am glad you had a safe trip. I never worry about traveling like an old man. And in the 17 years I have been here only a few people waved when they passed me traveling at 45. *_*

      Pete

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. 10,000+ Years of Adaptation and Compromise | Unalaska From My Point of View

Leave a Reply

