Skip to content

Capturing life…

January 20, 2013
by

Pete's pic'sThis morning as the sun finally broke out over the top of the nearby mountains and the orange/yellow light danced in the top of the snow covered trees. I wondered how one could capture that beauty in a picture. I have been thinking quite a bit about pictures since I returned from my visit to Texas. While I was down there, and like on the previous visits, I went through all the old photo albums that pretty much cover everything from my wedding to all the important and not so important occasions that occurred during my families early life.

Over the years even when I was in high school taking pictures for my year book and school paper, but lately more so, I am wondering WHY do we take pictures. It was easy back in my school days, I wanted to capture that ‘moment’ in time. The very second when a running back reaches out in front of him and with just the merest touch of his fingers manages to catch an uncatchable football. Or the second a runner crosses the finish line with his expression of joy and exhaustion.

In my middle years both my wife Terry and I could be seen with a camera in our hands at any function our children participated in, recording that moment. Finally last month when I visited my son and his children I was given a camera to use, one that my son was reviewing for some article, and I shot pictures every day I was there. At the same time watching my son almost doing the same thing, and again wondering why?

Pete's pic's_0001

I guess the easy answer is…..for future generations to remember that moment, but we never consider what is the cost of that picture? I know when we were shooting our Alaskan adventure DVD series, there were times I had to force myself to step out of the experience and become a camera man. I know for sure my son who shot the entire 5 months of adventures lost quite a bit of that Alaskan experience. For I do not think one can be a recorder of events and fully be a part of it at the same time. At the very least it will diminish the personal experience of the sense of place.

This posting is listed under the category ‘Area 51’ because it has no reason for existence, other than my mind wondering the why of something. I have seen many great photographs on WordPress blogs taken by ordinary average people, but there are some that do indeed make one pause, even if for only a second and absorb what that picture is saying. I haven’t had a new camera in decades and most of the pictures I have taken in Alaska have simply been to visually demonstrate something I am writing about. With this new camera I have promised myself to go out be young again and try and see the world for the first time.

Pete's pic's_0002

And you my reader will be the judge

weather I can recapture that eye of a young man that was lost so many years ago.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    January 20, 2013 9:38 pm

    I think you communicate your pictures very well with words Pete. You paint pictures that are very easy to visualize and enjoy!

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    January 20, 2013 11:55 pm

    Thanks again, Pete for sending me the Dalton Hwy. dvd. Thoroughly enjoyed the commentary; made us feel like we were with you guys! For me, my pictures are meant for my own enjoyment to remember an experience or experiences I’ve had whether joyful or otherwise in my life. Around Christmas, I finally replaced my first Alaska album ( bought at Co-op Drug in Fairbanks in 1975 but made here in St. Cloud, Mn.) because it was just shot. No pun intended! While taken with a Kodak Instamatic they were my first pictures of my Alaskan experience & I took pause to re-write my notes at almost every picture. All of my albums have recipe cards that describe the scene. I did that so people could page through it & not have to ask me what this or that is. I turned our honeymoon in Alaska into a picture story that took me 3 months to put together so we could look back on it some day & remember everything we did & saw.

    Like

  3. delbert permalink
    January 21, 2013 10:37 am

    make sure you copyright them before posting…… :) just a thought…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

