Skip to content

Home again…

January 13, 2013
IMG_0443

Getting water for the cabin

 

For just 8 hours of flying time the trip, door to door, from Texas to my cabin ended up taking 31 hours. This was caused mostly by an overnight stay in town after I landed, if you can call, 3:45am to 8:30 am an overnight stay. Then retrieving my truck, having breakfast and running around for water, supplies and picking up almost a months worth of mail. Then dealing with warmer temperatures and a decent amount of snow coming down made for a little slipping and sliding on the drive home. The one road, yes there is only one road North from Fairbanks, was in surprisingly good shape. I am sure it is not because of the few people that live out along it, but because without it Prudhoe bay would soon run out of……well everything, without the big rigs running supplies up this very road.

DSCF0017

'Bob" last summer

‘Bob” last summer

Then I ignored the lack of sleep and unloaded the truck into a nice warm cabin. This warm welcome was because my neighbors Kara, Rose and Paul came up and started the stove a few days ago, I thank them for the ‘warm’ greeting. I should mention that our resident raven, ‘Bob’, stopped by to welcome me and as I unloaded my suitcases and supplies he broke into the bags of meat I stored in the bed of my truck to keep cold. Looks like I will be a vegan for quite a few days.

DSCF0020.JPG

Now as I look out my cabin window past my truck, the snow is still slowly coming down. In my minds eye I see the grand children playing in the yard back in Texas. At times almost hearing my grandson Kai repeating the word, hole, and pointing to a spot on the top of the fish tank. A mystical place, special only to him and I, that we shared. Whenever we would see each other, after an absence, no matter how short, he would run to the fish tank finger pointing to “our” hole… maybe it was a vortex in the space time continuum where he could see me at my cabin in another point in time??? All I know is whenever he did that I would get that feeling of joy and happiness at sharing something special with the one you love.

DSCF0007

10 Comments leave one →
  1. kara permalink
    January 13, 2013 2:21 pm

    robert not bob

    Like

  2. Terry permalink
    January 13, 2013 4:01 pm

    Nice photos of the drive and arrival home, Pete. Pity about the meat ;-) And very nice memories of the grandies!!!

    Like

  3. January 13, 2013 5:16 pm

    Kara and Paul were the only ones that went and started your fire. Even though you have never driven it, there actually is another road north out of Fairbanks, it’s called the Steese and you drive it every trip as far as Fox. Do you just post things to see if someone will pick at them? LOL..

    Like

  4. Gina permalink
    January 13, 2013 9:45 pm

    I’m glad you had such a wonderful trip but there’s something special about coming home :)

    Like

  5. moutnaingirl permalink
    January 13, 2013 10:40 pm

    Welcome home my new friend! Sorry about Bob eating all the meat though! That’s gotta suck!

    Like

  6. January 14, 2013 3:12 pm

    His name is Robert, he doesn’t care to be called Bob, he is picky, lol.

    Like

  7. Jon permalink
    January 14, 2013 11:52 pm

    You have great neighbors there, Pete! The fact you referred to Robert as Bob probably pissed him off so he got into your meat supply out of spite! :) Ravens are very smart you know! At least is wasn’t -50 to welcome you back. 7 at the house here with -7 wind chill now in the Twin Cities.

    Like

  8. Daddy permalink*
    January 15, 2013 2:55 am

    That road, whatever people want to call it, certainly didn’t look too welcoming.

    It’s funny the bird is so particular about his name.
    When I was up there, I called him “hey bird” and he still came over to get some bread when I called. :)

    Like

  9. Raven permalink
    January 15, 2013 6:41 am

    Pete, I am glad you made it home safe and sound. The pictures are wonderful and it was a pleasure catching up with you. It warmed my heart. Family is a true blessing and grand children are even better. I wouldn’t trade Ray and Kylee for anything in the world and love my one on one time with them. As for Bob or Robert as for a bird yes Ravens are very smart and spiritual. So pay attention to him….. :-)

    Like

  10. January 20, 2013 3:44 pm

    Anthony, he was cutting you some slack, after all, you are from Texas, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

