Skip to content

Fog, the cliff and an outhouse…

January 3, 2013

I woke up and fell off the cloud of contentment and happiness I have been on now for almost a month. First, as the coffee was brewing, I heard through my mental fog the radio news anchor extolling the awesome news that the stock market was shooting through the roof. Then in a while when I was outside polluting my lungs in the warm 30 degree air of a Texas morning, another anchor was going on about how the President had won a victory for the little guy and forced Congress and the Senate to come to an agreement stopping the fiscal cliff disaster. That was enough to get the few neurons left in my addled brain to combine with the caffeene and nicotine and try and find out what all this brouhaha was about.

imagesIt appears that both Congress and the Senate have passed a bill stopping the US from going over the fiscal cliff. Both republicans and democrats joined together to pass a bill worthy of being better suited for use in my outhouse, and not as reading material. This bill raises taxes by $620 billion dollars and has only 15 billion in cuts in spending. Not only did obama get the tax increase he wanted but no one touched his social spending agenda.

Lets add to this that the Senate got the 154 page bill for approval only three (3) minutes before it was voted on. But I think our representatives in the Senate were already given orders on which way to vote, so the timing didn’t matter. Also with out any fanfare obama leaves town not waiting to get this, (IMPORTANT his words), bill to sign. He flew back to Hawaii to resume another of his vacations, this time after passing a bill cutting a very little spending he adds another 3 million to the cost of his vacation by the extra trip. All in all about what one would expect from a group of men who spend more time looking out to line their own pockets than represent the people who elected them.

Next comes the debt ceiling battle
want to bet there will be no cuts in spending just a higher credit ceiling…

 

Now a personal note…

This rant is in direct conflict with the way I have felt for the past three weeks… However I do face my last six days in Texas with a bit of apprehension, because I have grown accustomed to being able to walk around interact and play, at will, with my grandkids. At times I do not believe that I ever raised two children of my own. Watching my son and daughter-in-law balance everyday life with two, (continuously), active children I am sure I never could have done that an survived. If you couple the grandchildren to meals with  (( REAL )) food, and by real food I mean cooked from scratch, not the frozen or processed stuff I am used to, then toss in hot showers at any time and the icing on this cake of course is a flush toilet well folks……

I do know I look good in a Cowboy hat..

Cowboy

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron G permalink
    January 3, 2013 9:48 am

    It is hard to swallow this guy and his friends. I am about to give up, considering the juggernaut that Hillary is starting up. The press has already decided she will be the next president. This country is really screwed. And the Republicans seem too stupid to do anything about any of it. Add to that Feinstein’s rape of the 2nd Amendment, and I really am afraid for this country.

    Like

  2. Daddy permalink*
    January 3, 2013 11:39 am

    Vacation days at the end of 4 years:
    Bush(2): 180 days
    Reagan: 112 days
    Obama: 61 days

    But, in reality, no matter where the president is, the same security detail, cars, planes, etc are deployed. Not to mention the staff that travels with him to ensure he’s “in the know” about what’s going on. So, I think there’s really never any REAL vacation for any of them till they leave office. :)

    http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-18563_162-20093801.html

    Like

  3. kara permalink
    January 3, 2013 5:11 pm

    as to the vacations see who spent more and where they went for them,, whatever obama is a lowlife screeming worthless tool,,i truly do not like this idiot that even stupider people are voting for,,,

    Like

  4. Terry permalink
    January 3, 2013 7:44 pm

    Hmmmmmm……..

    Like

  5. Del permalink
    January 3, 2013 11:23 pm

    Reagan and Bush didn’t do as much harm to the future of this country then Barry has… I feel for our children and grand children’s future….
    http://sayanythingblog.com/entry/its-a-spending-problem/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+SayAnything+%28Say+Anything%29

    Like

  6. Jon permalink
    January 4, 2013 1:30 am

    Del,

    That was fantastic! Really spelled it out for the complete, boxed-up, gift-wrapped, ribbon-tied morons who voted for this communist. I can’t say anything more. Pete, have a safe trip back.

    Like

  7. January 4, 2013 4:16 pm

    Yes, someone that hauls their own chefs and foods when they travel all over and even have a special plane just for the family dog, since it needed a vacation also, really fits for the folks that are supposed to be interested in the continuation of the United States of America, leaving unpaid bills all over England. They had to have been briefed on protocol on meeting royalty, so why didn’t they try following it a little bit and a DVD of his own speeches as a “gift” was certainly appreciated as it would not even play if they wanted to watch it, which I doubt, wrong format, duh.

    Like

  8. Tricia permalink
    January 8, 2013 12:15 am

    My comment has a different direction then the rest of you all…. Dad I think the cowboy hat suits you. You should think about being down in Texas more often wearing that hat. Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

