Skip to content

1963 revisited

December 16, 2012

JfkIn an instant a persons life can change or in that same instant a country and the millions of people who live there will be moved in a new direction. In another blog posting I wrote about knowing exactly where I was when man first walked on the moon. Now let me tell you where I was when our country changed direction. I was 17 working part time for Sears Roebuck & company. Today they just call it Sears but back then it was THE force to be reckoned with when it came to retail sales. Anyway I was on break in the employee cafeteria and a show playing on TV was broken into by a news bulletin. Back then everyone knew Walter Cronkite, he was the heavy weight champion of news journalism. He stated that the president has been shot. Today I think very few 17 year olds would even miss a step, or stop texting if they heard the president was shot. Back then myself and everyone around me stopped what we doing, some even cried. Not that I wanted to interject a somber note into these blogs posted on my vacation, but I just visited the exact spot on Dealey Plaza where President Kennedy was shot and killed. Today there are two white x’s on the roadway where he was hit by gunfire. Also the grassy knowll is now changed by a cement wall behind what I suppose will one day be a moniment. I went to the viewing of the Presidents casket in the capitals routunda back in 1963, then later I managed to make it to the bridge going into the Arlington cemetery as the funeral procession went past. Why his death effected me that strongly I don’t know but I was far from the only one that felt that way.

jfk2

Sometimes like today

I do reflect and wonder where our country would be……if he had lived.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. delbert permalink
    December 16, 2012 10:41 am

    cool Pete that you post the pics.. missing -37 yet? Hope you are having a wonderful time visiting your Texas Family.. We have them in Texas too………….Merry Christmas and Happy New year!

    Like

  2. December 16, 2012 1:59 pm

    If he had lived, environmental issues would have been stepped up sooner and a few other things I hate to think about. Most of the obnoxious environmental anti developement Laws were passed immediately after his death as they were passed uncontested as a monument to him. They were not implimented for 20 years and by that time, there was no changing them. The time to complain or make changes had passed and the EPA came into being. It has been making life miserable for anyone trying to make a living on their own land, ever since.
    I was one that did not like that he was killed but I never looked at him as a perfect President, either. He certainly was not the worst one we have ever had, either. He did do a lot of good things, also.

    Like

  3. kara permalink
    December 16, 2012 2:08 pm

    i personaly never had much respect for the man, he cheated on his wife, they had to pay the wife to stay with him, to be honset i had more respect for nixon,,, lol

    Like

  4. jon permalink
    December 24, 2012 9:38 am

    Pete,

    Got my computer hooked back up AGAIN yeaterday & am getting caught up with emails. I don’t remember where I was when he was shot but I was 9 yrs. old. Also wasn’t privy to the info Rosalyn posted. He had his issues in his personal life as did his brothers & his old man for that matter, but was better than Johnson & his Great? Society.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL OF YOU FROM US IN THE TWIN CITIES. Going to be only 10 for a high on Christmas Day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

