Skip to content

Cold weather and marriage…

December 2, 2012

I know this is a short posting but my regular weekly rant about things will appear tomorrow.

I just thought this posting would be something to make everyone who doesn’t live in Alaska smile a little. I know lately I have been writing/complaining about old age and cold weather. Well Friday when I was in Fairbanks, the entire time I was there is never got over -20. Every time I walked from the truck to some store I felt my old bones, and my pants, freezing! On the trip home I mused about how I would smile when I heard the weather in Fairbanks at -29 or -34 as I sipped my coffee at a nice -4 or so out at my cabin. Well my chickens have come home to roost, today at noon I took the picture below. I am now thinking of living exclusively in my loft, where it is still warm. And by the way the only reason it is +64 on the first floor is that I have the heater, set past the half way mark, sucking fuel by the gallon!

With two week now of below zero weather

That trip to Texas in a week and warmer weather is really looking good

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

………
A moment in time.

On December 2nd 1964 when I was 18 and just days before I left for the far East I married, Teresa Bocchinfuso, the woman that would walk down life’s road with me for the next 28 years until she passed on. During those 28 years she gave me much more than she received and for the most part that was my fault. There is not one day even now that I do not think of her and all that she has done for me and our children.

I know it is cliché but it rings so true in my life that…..

‘you never know how good someone is for you

until they are gone‘….

apt

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    December 2, 2012 9:42 pm

    Your “old bones” will be very happy in Texas!

    Like

  2. AussieAlaskan permalink
    December 8, 2012 8:28 am

    What lovely thoughts about your wife, Pete!

    Like

Leave a Reply

