Skip to content

NCIS… ch ch changes %$#@&#

October 21, 2012
tags:
by

It seems that it is not only the politicians in Washington that think they know what is good for us better than we do but the producers and directors of the TV shows that we watch. I am sure this posting will not interest anyone but me but what the heck it’s my blog and I want to vent.

I happen to enjoy a number of different TV shows that deal with a good ‘who done it’ story line. I find that if they present the show with a solid story line, good scientific investigation and above all else a cast of great actors, that on the face of it we could accept as real people, than I am sold for as long as they crank the episodes out. So why do they, the producers and writers, ALWAYS end up trying to make it more interesting for the viewers. You would think that when a show has been on for 4, 6 or 8 years and has a large number of people watching it with high ratings they wouldn’t dare mess with the format of the show.

Well you would be wrong. Case in point NCIS… 8 years of very high ratings but when I started watching the 9th season last week the format was totally different. Yes they still dealt with the basic crimes against Naval personal and yes the cast still tried to put on great performances but the pace and focus was gone! Now it seemed that they had to balance every hard fact filled scene with a ‘warm and fuzzy’ one. Even when the actors interacted with each other the edge, that once was the hallmark of the series, was gone and a softer feel was in place.

Now everyone has to have someone to share there life with. From DiNozzo’s new relationship with his father and his search for the meaning of life to Ziva and her CIA boyfriend and then Gibbs ending up with a new girlfriend. This would not be so bad if it wasn’t for the writers making every other scene sound like they were on a soap opera. Gone was the fast pace of DiNozzos and McGee’s wit, Abby’s unique look at science and the stoic presence of Gibbs as he head slaps DiNozzo and leads the team. Yes it of little consequence to anyone but me but it seems that more and more of the things that help us escape for a few hours from the ‘day to day’ of life are changing.

Some may see this as progress, but I have always scribed to the philosophy that

if it isn’t broke… don’t mess with it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. delbert permalink
    October 21, 2012 9:47 pm

    that’s why I don’t watch the boob tube much….. I guess my days living in the bush for 3 years has stuck with me…..

    GO GATORS!!!!!

    Like

  2. delbert permalink
    October 21, 2012 9:48 pm

    Oh, 52 above here this AM

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    October 22, 2012 12:22 am

    Hi Pete,

    I don’t watch any prime time TV except for Fox News, Discovery or History for the most part. Too boring.

    Say the aurora pic is really pretty. I’m guessing Portage Glacier from the look of it.
    Am I right?

    God’s blessings & health to you, your family & all the regulars.

    Like

  4. kara permalink
    October 22, 2012 6:57 pm

    i haven’t gotten to see much of the 9th but did start on the 10th, they may be going back to the way things were, oh and gibbs new girlfriend yuck,, not a redhead,,,

    Like

  5. AussieAlaskan permalink
    October 22, 2012 7:33 pm

    Sorry you’re disappointed with your programs, Pete, but I’m another one that doesn’t watch much prime time. I spend hours surfing the net but am always surprised by the ads I see on other peoples TVs – they’ve never been on my TV before!!! Hehehe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

