Skip to content

Nothing!

October 15, 2012
by

As the sick gray light of an overcast fall afternoon weekly falls on the keyboard, it mirrors my mindset in a cloudy murkiness as I come to the conclusion that I have nothing to say. I feel as though my brain is stuck firmly in the mud of indecision. It is not like there is nothing to comment on. With both the Presidential and vice presidential debates having just passed with it’s many moments that warrant comment, there is just no spark of creativity that I can reach out and grab.

It is nearing the end of October which usually signals the first really good snow fall, and true to form our mostly wrong weather men are calling for a “chance” of snow for the next few days. If the look and feel of today is any indication than just maybe this time they are right.

But getting back to the problem at hand, I just have nothing to say. It may be because of the dreary weather, the elections nearing with no real hope for any significant change, the economics of another winter battling high fuel prices or the funeral I witnessed in the news I don’t know it is almost like ‘cabin fever’ with daylight.

Oh yeah the funeral, I think we all should be in morning. However when you look at the hundreds of pictures and video in the news reports it seems that people were almost happy about it. I am sure the thousands of children that lined the funeral processions route were happy, there smiles were seen in almost every photograph. I just wonder what the parents were telling them about it. That it was a historic day? That they should be proud to be there to see the corpse being dragged through the heart of LA? I can only think back to when man first walked on the moon and I moved my baby’s crib near the TV to watch that first step. People around the world did indeed stop what they were doing to witness that first step and it just made one proud to be an American. In recent years I can’t think of a time that has made me feel as proud.

When Kennedy was sworn in as President, he declared that within ten years we would go to the moon and we did it! Now-a-day’s we can’t get our government to balance it’s budget and we have to hitch a ride with the Russians to even get into orbit. All this because our President shut down our space program. So maybe it is the funeral, the final nail in the coffin of space exploration that has this gray cloud hanging over me.

One can only hope and pray that the one small step for man

has not ended on some roadway in LA.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. AussieAlaskan permalink
    October 15, 2012 7:13 pm

    I don’t usually comment too politically but I have to agree that looking outward has just stopped for the government. Things like the Mars explorers and long range observations of other planets/solar systems were planned sometime ago. Nowadays, it’s just infighting about the rubbish that takes up everyday, with no results. And I don’t see any change in the future either.

    Like

  2. AussieAlaskan permalink
    October 15, 2012 7:13 pm

    Oh, and I hope a nice blanket of beautiful white snow will “freshen” you up ;-)

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    October 15, 2012 10:35 pm

    Nothing to add Pete, Just letting you know I read each & every post. Nice aurora pic!

    Like

  4. Daddy permalink*
    October 17, 2012 6:31 am

    As sad as I am to see the Shuttle program dismantled… To be clear, “our president” shuts down our space program and we have to hitch a ride with the Russians… The year is 2004 and the President was Bush.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/07/07/the-end-of-the-space-shut_n_892022.html

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Space_Shuttle_program

    “When the concept of the U.S. space station evolved into that of the International Space Station, which suffered from long delays and design changes before it could be completed, the service life of the Space Shuttle was extended several times until 2011 when it was finally retired — serving at least 15 years longer than it was originally designed to do. In 2004, according to the President George W. Bush’s Vision for Space Exploration, use of the Space Shuttle was to be focused almost exclusively on completing assembly of the ISS, which was far behind schedule at that point”

    Like

Leave a Reply

