Skip to content

CQ, CQ, CQ

September 5, 2012
by

The sun came out today…….well yeah it is news out here on the edge of nowhere, it has been raining it seems like forever. Don’t laugh but with the appearance of the sun came an idea. I do have one every now and again especially after that first cup of coffee in the morning. Since I now have a number of fellow hams reading this blog, (because an article of mine that was published in an amateur radio magazine), I will for time to time write something related to amateur radio. I ask you who have been with me for a while now to indulge me when I write these postings. You can rest assured that with the upcoming democratic national convention, the elections and the state of our economy I will have more than enough to write about that will I hope satisfy everyone.

Short take………
It is fall here on the edge of nowhere, the leave in trees are leaning to bright yellow and every now and again when the wind blows a shower of gold falls on the gravel that I call my driveway. I sat in my shack this morning with my coffee the steam at times rising and fogging the cold window. A quite background hiss is the only sound coming from my old reliable Icom. My version of checking the bands is to tune to the PSK frequencies and listen for the sweet high pitched ‘music’ of a myriad of conversations echoing around the world.

Well today and for the past few days nothing but the sound of the empty ocean’s quite roar is coming from my speakers. I am again faced with another day of quiet solitude here in my cabin. After a couple days of hearing no PSK signals and only 3-4 high power enhanced QSO’s I began to question if something was wrong with my gear. Like maybe the squirrels have eaten through the coax coming from my antennas or has a moose walked through the yard and cut the line again? Or worse yet has the cat done the unthinkable and used my radio as target practice for one of her hairballs?

I started with used radios and a wire for my antenna and today my HF radios, tuners, batteries and Yagi’s are still used gear, but every now and again I have days that are memorable and it is than I know that it is not my gear or the evil cat but that the ionosphere has laid a blanket over my happiness. So what does one do but listen and later in the day listen again for the sound of that distant operator reaching out, like myself, for that magic that is a great QSO.

QTX de KL1HB

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron Giuntini kb6gk permalink
    September 5, 2012 2:45 pm

    I was wondering about your feedline myself.

    Like

  2. Tom Simmons N0CSA permalink
    September 5, 2012 10:58 pm

    Been listening for you enjoy your thoughts sometimes a little jealous

    Like

  3. Daddy permalink*
    September 6, 2012 12:20 am

    I use WWV. 2.5, 5, 10, 15, 20 MHz to see what signals are going around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

