Skip to content

Life without the net?

August 27, 2012
by

Yes there is life without the internet. Thanks to my son Anthony, (on a visit here from Texas this week), and after many comments from me saying forget trying to get the internet connection fixed, he did IT! Even to me after a lengthy explanation from him on what he did, why it is working will remain a mystery. So baring me telling you about the six pages of math, long formulas and a signal being bounced off the moon as an explanation, I hereby submit my first ‘direct’ posting in months.

Since I last had a connection my granddaughter, (PA), and now my son, (TX), have visited with me. My granddaughter to my surprise took to ‘target shooting’ with a vengeance and accuracy that had my head and self esteem hanging very low. She also found that after she caught her first Grayling, she really likes to fish. My son not to be out done, totally humiliated me by making many, many contacts on the ham radio. This of course came after I told him I had not been able to get through to anyone on any band. This is when he proceeded to turn on the radio and in a few minutes had his very own ‘pileup’ as if he was some exotic DX station.

For the hams out there still waiting for a QSO with me, starting Tuesday at 23;00 I will try calling CQ on or near 14.345… Here’s hoping I have the same luck as my son did.

We managed to also get some work done around the cabin, housecleaning a closet and outside shed with quite a bit of saved ‘important’ junk being taken to the dump. After that we erected a higher tower for my wind gauge, tightened the guy wires for the large antenna and wired a 15 foot strip of LED’s for my long winter nights, all in all a productive week. Now with access to my many news sources I will once again (hopefully) be able to write knowledgeably about all mater of current events.

Thanks for hanging in there with me,

I will try to once again to be entertaining and worthy of your time.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    August 27, 2012 9:32 pm

    Yea we will get there one day Pete

    Like

  2. Ron Giuntini kb6gk permalink
    August 28, 2012 9:12 am

    Very happy to read your posting. If I have it right, you get your internet using a hi gain yagi pointed at a neighbor. of course then you have to get your local net, your co
    mputer, to run it. good job.

    Like

  3. AussieAlaskan permalink
    August 28, 2012 7:22 pm

    Reads like a few good weeks recently! Have you ever had a such busy summer with visitors popping in!? Sounds like fun :-)

    Like

  4. SKY permalink
    August 29, 2012 8:58 am

    Why couldn’t the photo of me holding the earth be put up?!? Just kidding. I like this one too.

    Miss you both already, and I think I’ve decided I’m moving up there soon after I graduate next fall. It’s not official, but that’s what I want to do for a few years.
    <3

    Like

Leave a Reply

