Skip to content

Wilderness notes…

July 25, 2012
by

Just a short posting to let everyone know that I will be away from my cabin for almost two weeks. My granddaughter is here on a visit and I will be traveling around Alaska. Saturday we will be heading up North to the Arctic circle and some fishing in the foothills of the Brooks mountain range. Then in the beginning of next week South to Denali NP. So please have patience I will be back with more postings that I hope inform, amuse and agitate.

For the hams who follow my blog I will be off the air during these two weeks, but plan to send out that contact email when I get back. I still see no real improvement on any band, but did have some success on 7/21 with Washington state and a station near Calgary. When I get back I plan to park myself around 14.240 – 14.250 on a daily basis weather I hear anything or not and see if anyone can pull me out of the noise.

As Far as politics and the Presidential campaign I am sorry to report I am going to ignore what’s going on so I can enjoy this upcoming visit with my family. I would like to say this about the tragedy in Colorado.. ‘I told you so’. I have written elsewhere about the warped thinking of our leaders in the government. Well they have once again proved me correct. It didn’t take them long to start talking about stronger gun laws, in an attempt to prevent this from happening again. Of course they are totally ignoring the fact that this ‘nut’ had purchased the firearms he used legally. I guess it could never be that the guy was just crazy or on drugs that prompted him to kill 14 people.

So for now it’s time to get ready to venture North
up Alaska’s road to the top of the world…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    July 25, 2012 6:26 am

    Have a great trip!

    Like

  2. del permalink
    July 25, 2012 10:05 am

    have fun pete.. wish i was riding with ya. maybe next year…

    Like

  3. AussieAlaskan permalink
    July 26, 2012 7:12 am

    Great idea, del – it should be a great trip!

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    July 27, 2012 12:44 pm

    Pete,

    Your trip up the Dalton reminds me of the dvd you sent me of a previous trip. God bless & have a fun & safe trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

