Skip to content

Welcome all Ham’s

July 17, 2012
by

Greetings to my fellow ‘Hams’ and welcome to my mental QTH.
To my regular readers please allow me to share this short posting with a dedicated group of people who share the same avocation I do, our interest/love of amateur radio. The OP-ED article in the August QST is no doubt what led you here. I hope you find a ‘nugget’, worthy of your time and effort, hidden somewhere within my blog. The category section should lead you closer to an article of interest, from my posting’s about Alaskan travel, fishing, ham radio or even my family or area 51. There should be something to interest anyone. I give only one word of caution, the sections on patriotism or politics has at times quite an edge and is not for the faint of heart. I gratefully accept anyone’s views weather you agree or disagree.

It is in this exchange that we all may find common ground
like we have done and continue to do daily
when we reach out and call CQ CQ CQ

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gene Boulton permalink
    July 17, 2012 11:55 pm

    Hello Pete!

    I just picked up the August QST, and was casually thumbing through it when I saw your picture. I took a double take because it’s the same picture I have prominently displayed on the side of my refrigerator. Pete, you were my very first HF contact made on 11/13/2011 on 10 meters. I had just acquired an FT-897, powered it with an aux battery in the back of my truck, and hooked it up to a portable dipole. I was amazed that the other end of the conversation was originating from Alaska all the way to Texas. My call was KE5PKZ, now changed to N5PKZ. It took several hours to wipe the grin off, and I’ve been hooked by the skyhook ever since. Thanks for taking the time and realizing what it would mean to a new operator by sending that QSL card in the mail. I’m always listening for KL1HB and hope to reconnect sometime.

    Like

  2. AussieAlaskan permalink
    July 18, 2012 7:21 pm

    I had to do a bit of googling to get the gist of this but it seems like you got advertised! Well done, and I see one of your fellow operators saw it, too!

    Like

  3. July 18, 2012 11:20 pm

    Hey Pete, When I saw your pic in QST I instantly heard your voice in my head replaying the audio from when I was on Mt Herman that day when I worked you with my little 5w FT-817 and vertical antenna ….what a huge thrill! Still gives me goose bumps just thinking about it! Yes that’s why were hams alright! here’s the video: http://youtu.be/Rljb-Rq7ZWg

    Like

  4. Tricia permalink
    July 20, 2012 9:36 am

    The articale was great!!! I passed it on to Chrit’s dad, Floyd to read.
    Xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

