Skip to content

Wilderness music…

May 1, 2012
by

(Just a note… tonights posting was to talk about the ‘last flight’ of the space shuttle. However something inspiring happened last night and even though words can not convey emotions, I had to write about it. I understand that few have an ear for classical music but I ask you please allow my digression.)

My daughter said a few hours before the concert that I may be surprised. That comment was in response to my mentioning that I was thinking of skipping the first half of a performance by the Fairbanks Symphony Orchestra. Yes even here, metaphorically, at the end of the road I found a symphony orchestra. I have lived in Alaska for 17 years and never even thought to look for one here.

In Philadelphia I held a season subscription to the renowned Philadelphia Orchestra. The last performance I had the privilege of attending was Beethoven’s 9th and it was indeed a moving experience. But when I found out that we had a symphony orchestra here in Fairbanks, I had to go to at least one concert. However being used to hearing one of the finest orchestras in the nation I was not expecting much at a concert in ‘Alaska’.

Well back to what my daughter said to me… The first 4 movements were featuring local musicians in something called the ‘Concerto Competition Winner’s Concert’. Now anytime I see the word (concerto) I have never like the music presented. It is usually preformed by a small part of the orchestra and for the most part I prefer hearing only the massively moving performances played by the entire ensemble. Well once again she was right.

First there was a 10 year boy, Alex Apicella-Adams who’s wonderful performance would not have been out of place if he was at the ‘Met’ in New York city. Then there was a young girl, Rachel Lindley, who’s performance had the house on there feet with applause and three curtain calls. It was then I knew that music, truly great music was not dictated by geography. When the 76 member orchestras last notes of the 1812 overture faded I rose and joined the audience in applause.

On the long ride home I kept going back in my mind to the beauty and power of that performance…

and could only pray that I would experience those moments again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosalyn permalink
    May 1, 2012 1:45 pm

    Gee, we have only been suggesting now for how many years?

    Like

  2. AussieAlaskan permalink
    May 1, 2012 7:42 pm

    Well, that sounds like a good evening which you thoroughly enjoyed, Pete!

    Like

  3. AussieAlaskan permalink
    May 1, 2012 7:44 pm

    I have had occasion many years ago to listen to Beethoven’s 9th late into the evening/early morning hours with someone from the past – still gives me goose bumps – not sure what the neighbours thought of it :-D

    Like

  4. ccrmom permalink
    May 3, 2012 10:02 am

    So glad you made the WHOLE performance! It is astounding what the younger generation can bring to the classics! The PBS station here has a program on that features young people performing.. and I am always taken aback that they are so expert at such young ages. So Glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

