Skip to content

Big winds

April 4, 2012
by

Ok I know living up here in the cold North country sometimes has its draw backs, but give me any amount of days at -40 over one day with tornados. It may be scary watching a bear walk around your cabin but I know a strong door and a 44 will keep me safe. Today I woke to the news that tornadoes were touching down in the Dallas, Texas area. Without phone service out here it was up to my short wave radio to get me in touch with my son in Dallas, and in a short time I knew he and his family were OK.

What would you rather face?
The black bear on the right or the tornado below?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. AussieAlaskan permalink
    April 4, 2012 7:43 pm

    I bet you REALLY appreciated the trusty ole short wave radio! I would have.

    Like

  2. Del permalink
    April 4, 2012 9:33 pm

    Yes Pete when you go through a hurricane or 2 or 3 in 1 year you know how these people that were affected by these super cell tornadoes feel… And the season has yet to start here in FL….
    Del

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    April 4, 2012 11:34 pm

    Easy choice for me..the bear! I turned on the Weather Channel in time to watch live video from the helicopter for about 1 1/2 hrs. before leaving for work. Fascinating site watching semi-trailers being tossed into the air about 200′ like rag dolls.

    Glad your family is safe. They say 13 tornadoes without injuries or death. God bless all of them.

    Like

  4. Daddy permalink*
    April 5, 2012 6:35 am

    We got lucky it wasn’t here. But it was certainly no Joplin.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Joplin_tornado

    Like

  5. Liz permalink
    April 7, 2012 4:41 am

    I’ll take the bear any day. Never have figured out how people can live with those things year after year (tornados!) I’ll even take my cougars over them and I dislike them alot. Seems we have another big one living behind the house, I’m just praying it’s a he and not a she! I’d like to see it when I have the gun, make nice rug. Kinda worried about my two old horses…they wouldn’t stand a chance with it. It’s snowing off and on today, typical spring day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

