Skip to content

Golden smile

April 1, 2012
by

Great news from the far North. The excessive heat we have been having has caused the snow to melt at record speed here on the compound, (i’ve been told not to call the place a homestead so compound it is). Anyway what normally takes weeks and weeks to melt seems to have happened overnight. The dirt road we have here seems more like a river with it running at a couple inches deep and I half expect to see Trout and Grayling swimming by. Yesterday right in front of my cabin the runoff has exposed thousands of rocks that we never knew were there. When I walked, ‘waded’ down for morning coffee I took some time to look closer at the rock collection and as I looked down the sun reflected off quite a number of them. When I picked up a handful I thought my old heart was going to quit right there and then…it was gold nuggets. Yes sir my friends right there in my grubby old paws were maybe 20 nuggets of gold! Maybe not the ‘Mega-lottery’ but surely a few thousand dollars worth.

Yes today is April 1st and this fantasy is brought to you by the warped brain that does every once in a while serve up a few gold nuggets of writing. I have been trying to find something to write about but with spring in the air and warm +24^ breezes blowing I feel just like the kids who want to be on spring break.

It’s not that there isn’t anything to write about or make fun of, just take a look at the trip, (aka another vacation on air force 2), that obama’s wife is on. I mean she decides to go some where at the drop of a hat, without thinking about the cost, (we will just print some more money), or inconvenience to normal working people. This time she decided to fly to Nevada, maybe to play the slot’s and balance the federal budget. I suppose she didn’t consider closing down the Hover dam area to ‘regular citizens’ as a big deal. Just because they saved and planned for months to be there, after all she is the presidents wife.

Or maybe I could grouse some more about the fact that gas up here is fast approaching $4.50 a gallon. But that is a suffering that not one of our representatives in Washington or even Juneau worry about. Why should they there drivers are responsible for filling up there cars tanks, not them. I think it would be front page news if someone had a photograph of the Senate majority leader pumping his own gas, or even better reaching into his pocket for money to pay for it. My state representatives may be seen doing that but why should they care they have a per-diem and that gasoline is being paid for by the state of Alaska, meaning me.

So yes there are many things to write about, but after all it is April 1st and spring break time

so why not just have a smile and pretend we won the Mega-bucks lottery ticket.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosalyn permalink
    April 2, 2012 12:13 pm

    Somebody else’s hills farther up the road in another drainage, LOL. Nope, not a homestead. I bought and paid for this place and it is home, but not a homestead.

    Like

  2. triicia permalink
    April 2, 2012 8:00 pm

    Ssssoooooooooo not funny.
    I had a brief… Maybe one full miniute. … of relief and joy and a restored faith that there really will be some sunshine at the end of this. .. For lack of a better word…. Shitty ass, dark cloud. We are a group of good, honest, harding working people on this “compound” my imediate thought was that it was about dam time one of us had good luck like that…and damit. … The relief and joy was ripped away as fast as it came…. BUT I am holding on to the faith.
    ….. Or maybe I am just so mad at myself because YET AGAIN….. dad got me on this very same blog site on April Fools day.

    Like

  3. kara permalink
    April 3, 2012 3:51 pm

    i liked this one very imaginative

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    April 4, 2012 4:28 am

    What a cheerful posting, Pete. Just when I thought you’d fallen & struck your head you came back to the self we all know & love!! LOL!!

    However, good luck with the next lottery.

    Like

  5. Daddy permalink*
    April 5, 2012 6:38 am

    Oh, those nuggets were mine. They fell out of my pocket when I visited last. I’m sure of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

