Skip to content

Ramblings 3/23

March 24, 2012
by

Summer solstice my as……

Yeah welcome to spring, well someone didn’t tell mother nature what day it was. With overnight temperatures here around -10 to -15 and snow coming this weekend, I’d say it was still fall. Yes we do have the sun back for almost 13 hours a day, but how about some of that global warming you have down in the lower 48. I’ve been known to give off a lot of carbon monoxide well at least plenty of hot air, so where’s the spring melt. I look out my cabin window and the snow banks are still taller than my truck roof!

And don’t get me started about the price of a trip to town. Went into town yesterday and pumps said $4.25, but I am sure thats no reason to open the costal waters to oil exploration. I can just see the $7/gallon prices if Iran is attacked, and we don’t even buy any oil from them. It’s getting more and more like ‘Alice in wonderland’ around here where the old action equals reaction axiom doesn’t hold true. Now-a-days the result is usually the opposite of what any person with common sense would think.

Just when you think it is safe to stick your head up, it gets whacked with another stupidity.

*Electric cars that use no gasoline but when you plug them in are charged by power stations burning coal or oil.
*Japan and China practically begging for Alaska’s natural gas and our state legislators continue to debate the need for a gas pipeline.
*People elected who espouse reform and become crooks before the end of there first term.
*In state oil costing as much as imported oil.
*The president saying we need more oil and he wants to use some of our strategic reserve, but won’t allow drilling in Alaska.
*The Republicans running four men for president that no one really believes has a chance to win.
*The Democrats saying they want to cut the budget, but keep spending (printing) more money.
*The middle Eastern countries saying America is immoral at the same time wanting more American products.

*And I want to write something of interest and end up rambling as usual….go figure!


Yeah I know I used this picture before but I really, really like it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    March 24, 2012 10:39 pm

    I guess the Nissan Leaf, the all-electric car goes about 100 miles, if that, before needing a charge. So..if I bought one of these pieces of crap, it’d take me about 3 days to go up north to see my relatives. Add in 2 nights lodging & cost to recharge which seems to be somehow missing in their flowery adds (no pun intended) I don’t think I’m saving much money with one of these. And then some meals have to be included in that, too, since our normal trip takes about 4 hrs. now. Yup, saving the environment is not what it’s all about, but control of our lives is.

    Hold our noses again & vote in Nov.

    Like

  2. Chris permalink
    March 25, 2012 7:07 am

    Hi Pete, Been following you for awhile and really enjoy getting your blogs, keep it up.

    You probably don’t remember me but I met you back in 99 when you were with Les, I heard he is gone now. Rose guided me and got I my bear back beyond Eureka, had the time of my life. After that we all took-off up the Tanana river cause Les’s wife was coming home and didn’t want a bunch of hunters there at the house. Say hi to Rose for me and let her know my bear that she rugged still looks like new. Maybe I can get up that way again next year.

    Like

    • Rosalyn permalink
      March 25, 2012 3:34 pm

      Hi Chris,
      How is Jersey doing? If you come up again, stop by and say Hi. Glad the rug is still looking good and that was a good hunt.

      Like

  3. delbert permalink
    March 25, 2012 9:14 am

    yes I know what you mean Pete and Jon…… got to 83 here today… loving it and still misss my days up north……….gas 3.80 something here…. have a REWARDS card fro a local grocery store and when you buy food they give you gas perks. got 1.66 something off the reg price and they guy told me i am gettting a good price and I told him not its not a good price its just a cheaper one from the 1.80 i was paying 3 years ago……. its like they are trying to brainwash us to think we are getting a deal………. drill more baby!!! we have it here and up there…….keep it up pete.

    Like

  4. AussieAlaskan permalink
    March 25, 2012 9:17 am

    I like your photo, Pete. I understand it completely ;-)

    Like

  5. AussieAlaskan permalink
    April 1, 2012 12:11 pm

    And a little more snow, today? It ain’t summer yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

