Skip to content

March madness & music…

March 14, 2012

No not basketball I don’t appreciate the game it’s the other madness I am talking about. Yesterday on the drive back to the cabin from Fairbanks I was for the first time in a long, long time listening to some music. And as if ordained by the heavens just at the appropriate time as I crested the highest hill, (3,200′), between Fairbanks and the homestead the music swelled to a crescendo of violins and an organ. The view, of snow capped mountains and trees, that I’ve seen thousands of times became this time much more inspiring. It was like that feeling you experienced when your first child was born, or a loved one returns after an absence. It just fills you with a sense of joy almost to the point of tears.

Lately as evidenced by my postings I have been very lax in actually writing anything. Choosing more to borrow some topic from the news and making a short comment. Well it was not my fault! I can lay blame totally on the sun. For weeks now the sun has been quite active sending massive amounts of energy spiraling earthward and shutting down my one main pleasure Ham radio. I am on the “air” literally every day searching out gold. By gold I mean finding that someone who answers your radio call and the conversations ends up being one akin to talking to a close old friend. Not having this daily respite from my reality I just didn’t feel like doing anything. I stopped reading news on the internet and I stopped writing, kinda like cabin fever only now with sunlight all day long.

It took my trip to town and sharing my mundane day of laundry and shopping with my daughter, who was in a good frame of mind, along with for some reason me bringing a CD to listen to to break this ‘March madness’. Hopefully that March spell is gone and I can get back to hollering at what politicians do and at times telling you of the great beauty and adventure that exist at almost every mountain crest in my home…….Alaska.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    March 14, 2012 9:58 pm

    Yea I know what you mean there Pete. I pine this time of the year too as I remember the times I had trying to get updates on the ham from the race and then talking for hours to people I never have met but talked like we were neighbors…… Plus just the beauty of the surroundings as I was outside a lot too……

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    March 15, 2012 9:48 pm

    Pete,

    I find Yanni’s music takes me to places like areas I’ve visited in Alaska, the Badlands in SD, etc.
    Yanni moved to the Twin Cities from Greece in ’73 & used to play the bars around town early on. I’ve met him 2 different times & have gotten his autograph both times. By the way, beautiful pic of Denali on this post

    Jon

    Like

Leave a Reply

