Skip to content

Ramblings…2/18

February 19, 2012

The rumor of my demise has been greatly over stated.

In my posting of 2/13 I said, “The political scene, that I have used as raw meat for my writing, now gives me no aggravation or entertainment only sadness.” Though still true the political shenanigans in the capitol that took place the past week has again awakened in my soul a desire to pound on the head every representative we have now sitting in Washington. So I have arisen, so to speak, from my mental stupor to present you with more irony and insanity that we now call Washington.

If someone was writing an historical fiction novel about the last days of a nation, they could copy what is happening this week in Washington as proof of another nail in the coffin of a once great nation. After weeks of one political party saying we are broke and can not afford the current size of our military and the other party saying we are so broke we can not afford to renew the Bush era tax cuts without an offset in spending, what do they do? Both parties agree to pass the continuation of the tax cuts. I am sure that adding another billion in debt won’t matter much in the grand scheme of things but still….are they nuts?

Then because like the ‘Homer’ that I am the light dawns and I realize that the elections are only months away and they all need something/anything positive to bring to us and say look what I did for you. I guess we should be overwhelmed at there concern for us poor hard working people. I know I would be, just imagine what you will do with the approximately $40 a week extra that will not be taken out of your pay check for taxes. It might be a dinner out with the wife or maybe pay for ( part ) of that next tank of gas for your car. Yes I am sure millions of people will run out and re-elect there representative for there thoughtful actions.

Oops wait… I forgot just how did they plan to pay for it? I have heard some rumblings, from the capitol, that they intend to try and sell more bands on the airways to cell phone carriers, TV and radio stations, but the operative word is ‘try’ and sell. So once again OUR, (you voted them into office didn’t you), representatives are spending money the US government does not have.

They once again have taken another card from the house of cards that is the American economy.

Definite reason to vote them back into power in November.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. AussieAlaskan permalink
    February 19, 2012 9:16 pm

    Eh, he’s still rolling along! You’re right, Pete :-)

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    February 19, 2012 10:56 pm

    The way they always state these types of things; like we should send them a thank you for their generous gesture. Instead let’s send them a pink slip come Nov.

    Like

  3. Rosalyn permalink
    February 20, 2012 2:41 pm

    Pink slip hell, tar and feathers would be more fitting, LOL.

    Like

  4. TexasJim permalink
    February 20, 2012 10:20 pm

    Pete I want to tell you how I think the elections will be. Obama will still be president, No or very little change in congress. This is not the way I am going to vote, but so many have no idea what is going on and do not care. Therefore the will vote the same people into office.

    Like

  5. Liz permalink
    February 22, 2012 2:34 am

    I’ll get the definitition for you later in the day…..I have it….but I gotta get it all together…I’ll be back!!

    Like

  6. Liz permalink
    February 24, 2012 1:17 am

    Dumb – stupid; obscure; daft; moronic

    Stupid – to be stunned or amazed.; Lacking normal intelligence or understanding; slow-witted; dull. irrational ; dull and boring , tiresome. syn. stupid implies such lack of intelligence or incapacity for perceiving, learning etc. dull implies a mental sluggishness that may be constitutional or may result from overfatigue, Dense suggests thickheadedness or obtuseness.

    Daft – silly; foolish. weak-minded. insane.

    moronic – characteristic of, or like a moron

    moron – is the highest classification of mental deficiency.

    Like

Leave a Reply

