Skip to content

Strange journey

February 14, 2012
by

You walk this road long enough and most of what you encounter becomes familiar. In this my later years familiar is comforting. Gone are the days when I thrive on multi-tasking. At times I have looked back with fond memories of running a million dollar printing press. Seeing myself moving around that enormous machine like in some choreographed dance movement. Of playing the ‘keys’ while setting the ink or being able to look at a sheet of paper and knowing that it is just a tad too much water and not more ink I need. Gone too are the days of driving for 20 hours a day for six days straight and never loosing my sharpness. Or helping my friend build her dream from a pile of wood delivered by home depot.

Long gone are those days… Now, when I stand outside my cabin and look to the distant hills, it is the quiet of being on the edge of nowhere and the acquired routine of my daily life that gives me a smile of satisfaction. Change is much overrated unless you have not found what you were looking for. However some change is like the seasoning on a fine meal, it adds something to the overall experience.

Where am I headed with this… I have no idea. I am writing what bubbles to the surface of this old warped mind. Like my thoughts now have drifted to next winter and what decisions I will have to make. I found out this winter I can no longer physically keep my short driveway clear of snow and how hard it is to keep enough fuel on hand to warm the cabin. They are nothing but potential turns in this road of life that one has to figure out.

The political scene, that I have used as raw meat for my writing, now gives me no aggravation or entertainment only sadness. You come to a point if you study history and the current political scene long enough, that the realization of the futility of any words becomes a reality. When you look at both sides of the isle you see only symbolic pigs in the trough that is Americas life blood. The term all men are created equal has the new meaning that all politicians are the same, ( what’s in it for me mentality ), no matter what party they owe allegiance to. Where the words they speak have no truth behind them. They tell us what we want to hear and turn around and do whatever will benefit them and there financial backers.

It is no small wonder I have even now begun to question Gods purpose for me on this road of life. Throughout this journey I have looked for my reason for existence. At times it seemed clear why I was hear, but as you walk further you reach the top of your families personal existence. By this I mean throughout your life you watch the passing of all those you have known and loved but then you reach the pinnacle yourself…and then, what? I am not a church going man but I do believe in God and I know many times he or his angels (?) have been by my side guiding my steps. At the time not realizing it, but in hindsight the realization that without some outside force guiding and protecting me, I would not be here writing this.

But for what purpose?
There are many far better than I that have left this road, so why am I allowed to continue?
Answers I have not, just questions to ponder here on the edge…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    February 14, 2012 11:25 pm

    Well Pete sounds like you need some vitamin D…… Keep the faith brother…….
    I am going through that now with my Mother….

    Like

    • AussieAlaskan permalink
      February 15, 2012 7:18 am

      I think you are right, Del.

      Like

  2. February 15, 2012 4:08 am

    Very poignant and well thought out words. I heartily agree that, with the lifting of financial contribution limits, the government isn’t “for the people” any more. And that’s a real shame. It’s like Pandora’s box, once it was opened, it’s gong to be damn near impossible to close again.

    But as to life’s journey… we can never know what our purpose is. Perhaps there’s more for you to do, and it hasn’t happened yet. Who knows what words you may pass along via the radio, by e-mail, or the blog, read or heard by someone else in the world, which sparks an idea, a realization, a change that leads to something big. The butterfly effect, so to speak.

    We are all little cogs, gears, systems in the great machine of life. Our effect is always greater than we could possibly imagine. We can take comfort in that.

    Like

    • Liz permalink
      February 16, 2012 1:30 pm

      We all have a reason for being here. I have often wondered what it was in my case. But last night when helping a friend of mine, who is passing away right now, I realize exactly how lucky I am…I should just remember to enjoy and love what the Lord has given me. Even the days when things go bad..I know I’m still lucky. I thought last night as I held her close to me, that I was so lucky to still be able to move, to breath, to see things, to talk to people or listen to animals. I’m lucky and so are you Pete, you have friends, you have family, you have a place to be, you are lucky…one of the most beautiful places in the world actually.

      Like

Leave a Reply

